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To the best of my knowledge and belief, this return is true, correct and complete.

Gallons dispensed ................	1)                   	

Total exemptions...................	2)                                      

Total deductions....................	3)                              

Taxable gallons......................	4)                              

Tax rate...................................	5)	

Tax due...................................	6)

Total tax due (The sum of line 6, all columns)............................................  7)                  

Penalty	 ......................................................................................................  8)

Interest	 ......................................................................................................  9)                     

TOTAL DUE (The sum of lines 7, 8, and 9)..............................................  10)                                     

WHO MUST FILE:  Registered distributors who dispense alternative fuel into a supply tank for a motor vehicle in New Mexico 
are required to file Form RPD-41164, Alternative Fuels Excise Tax Return, and pay the excise tax due. Alternative fuels are 
liquefied petroleum gas (LPG), compressed natural gas (CNG), liquefied natural gas (LNG) and water-phased hydrocarbon 
fuel emulsion (A-55). Through June 30, 2014, the alternative fuel excise tax rate was $0.12 per gallon of fuel dispensed. 

Beginning July 1, 2014, the alternative fuels excise tax rates for each gallon distributed are:
	 $0.120	 /gal	 Liquefied petroleum gas (LPG)
	 $0.133	 /gal	 Compressed natural gas (CNG)
	 $0.206	 /gal	 Liquefied natural gas (LNG)
	 $0.120	 /gal	 Water-phased hydrocarbon fuel emulsion (A-55)

WHEN TO FILE: Returns and remittance are due on the 25th day of the month following the end of the calendar quarter in 
which the alternative fuel was dispensed into a supply tank for a motor vehicle in New Mexico.

RECENT LEGISLATION: In 2014, the New Mexico Legislature made changes to the Alternative Fuel Tax Act. Effective July 
1, 2014, the following changes have been made to the alternative fuels excise tax program. 
•	 The option to pay alternative fuels excise tax annually for LNG and CNG is no longer available;
•	 The excise tax rates for LNG and CNG are modified, and
•	 Definitions for "gallons" are changed. See the definitions in the instructions for this form for details.

 Important instructions for filing for report periods ending on or before June 30, 2014. 
If filing for a report period that ends on or before June 30, 2014, multiply the taxable gallons reported on line 4 by $0.12 for 
each alternative fuel type to compute the tax due reported on line 6. Effective July 1, 2014, the excise tax rate changes to 
$0.133 per gallon for CNG and $0.206 per gallon for LNG. The rates for LPG and A-55 remain at $0.12 for periods beginning 
on or after July 1, 2014. When determining the number of gallons to report for periods beginning on or after July 1, 2014, 
you must use the new definition of "gallon". See Definition of "Gallon" for Purposes of the Alternative Fuel Tax Act, in the 
instructions for this form.

Upon completion of the form, sign, date and enter your phone number and email address on return. Retain a copy of this 
return for your records and for audit verification. Attach the payment to your return and submit them to the address below. 
Make your check or money order payable to NM Taxation & Revenue Department. Write your CRS identification number 
and "AFD" on your check or money order.  

NOTE:  When you provide a check as payment, you authorize us to use information from your check to make a one-time electronic fund 
transfer from your account.  When we use information from your check to make an electronic fund transfer, funds may be withdrawn from 
your account as soon as the same day you make your payment.
Detach and return to: 	NM Taxation and Revenue Department
			   Special Tax Programs and Services
			   P.O. Box 25123
			   Santa Fe, NM  87504-5123

ALTERNATIVE FUELS EXCISE TAX RETURN                                                               

CRS ID #

Business name

Mailing address

City	

Quarter end date
LPG CNG LNG

Mail to:  Taxation and Revenue Department, Special Tax Programs and Services, P.O. Box 25123, Santa Fe, NM  87504-5123

Check if amended    

Signature __________________________  Date __________________  Phone ________________ Email address_____________________________                           

State	 ZIP code

 $0.120 /gal

$

 $0.206* /gal $0.133* /gal

A-55

 $0.120 /gal

State of New Mexico Taxation and Revenue Department

ALTERNATIVE FUELS EXCISE TAX RETURN

*If filing for a report period prior to July 1, 2014, you must use the rates contained in the “Alternative Fuel Excise Tax Rate Table” on the instruction page.

*95680200*
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Definition of "Gallon" for Purposes of the Alternative Fuel Tax Act
Effective July 1, 2014, the definition of "gallon" was modified.
For liquid alternative fuel, "gallon" means the quantity of liquid necessary to fill a standard U.S. gallon liquid measure, which is 
approximately 3.785 liters, provided that:

•	 for water-phased hydrocarbon fuel emulsion (A-55), a gallon shall be measured only with respect to the hydrocarbon 
base portion of the emulsion and not to the water base portion; and

•	 for liquefied natural gas (LNG), a gallon shall be 6.06 pounds of liquefied natural gas.
For non-liquid alternative fuel, "gallon" means 114 cubic feet, provided that:

•	 for compressed natural gas (CNG), a gallon shall be 5.66 pounds or 126.67 standard cubic feet of compressed natural 
gas.

For reporting periods beginning prior to, but not on or after July 1, 2014, "gallon" means the quantity of liquid necessary to 
fill a standard U.S. gallon liquid measure, which is approximately 3.785 liters for liquid alternative fuel; provided, however that in 
the case of a water-phased hydrocarbon fuel emulsion, a gallon shall be measured only with respect to the hydrocarbon base 
portion of the emulsion and not to the water base portion. For non-liquid alternative fuel, gallon equals 114 cubic feet.

LINE INSTRUCTIONS
Line 1.  	 In the column that lists the alternative fuel type, LPG, CNG, LNG and A-55, enter the total gallons of the alternative fuel 

type dispensed into a supply tank for a motor vehicle in New Mexico, during the report period of this return. 

Line 2. 	 Enter the allowable exemptions in the column for each fuel type.  Exemptions include sales to the U.S. government, state 
government, Indian nation, tribe or pueblo, agencies and instrumentalities for their exclusive use.

Line 3.	 Enter the allowable deductions in the column for each fuel type. A deduction is allowed for alternative fuels distributed to 
alternative fuel permit holders. 

Line 4.	 In each column, subtract the sum of lines 2 and 3 from line 1. These are the taxable gallons distributed, for the fuel type 
listed at the top of the column. 

Line 5.	 In each column, entered for you, is the excise tax rate for the type of alternative fuel listed at the top of the column that 
is effective for report periods beginning on or after July 1, 2014. For report periods that begin prior to, but not on or after 
July 1, 2014, the tax rate is $0.12 for each alternative fuel type. If filing for a report period that begins before, but not after 
July 1, 2014, compute the tax by multiplying the taxable gallons in line 4 by $0.12. See the Alternative Fuel Excise Tax 
Rate Table below. 

Line 6.	 In each column, enter the tax due for each alternative fuel type by multiplying the taxable gallons distributed in line 4 by 
the tax rate in line 5. If the reporting period begins  prior to July 1, 2014, multiply the taxable gallons distributed in line 4 
by $0.12. 

Line 7.	 Enter the sum of the amounts in line 6, from all columns. This is the total alternative fuels excise tax due.

Line 8.	 Add penalty if you file late and owe tax, or you do not pay the tax on or before the date the return is due. Calculate penalty 
by multiplying the unpaid amount on line 7 by 2%, then by the number of months or partial months the payment is late, 
not to exceed 20% of the tax due, or a minimum of $5.00, whichever is greater.  The minimum $5.00 penalty is imposed 
for failure to file a timely report, even if no tax is due. 

Line 9.	 Add interest if you do not pay the tax due on or before the original due date of your return. Interest accrues daily on the 
unpaid principal of tax due.  The IRC rate for each quarter is announced by the Internal Revenue Service in the last month 
of the previous quarter.  The current annual and daily interest rates are posted on the Department's web page at 

	 www.tax.newmexico.gov.

	 The formula for calculating daily interest is:

	       Tax due  x  the daily interest rate for the quarter  x  the number of days late  =  interest due.

Line 10.	 Add lines 7, 8, and 9. This is the total amount due.

State of New Mexico Taxation and Revenue Department

ALTERNATIVE FUELS EXCISE TAX RETURN

Alternative Fuel Excise Tax Rate Table

     Type of fuel                                             Effective rate:       Prior to July 1, 2014           On or after July 1, 2014

     Liquefied petroleum gas (LPG)                                                     $0.120 /gal                                $0.120 /gal	
     Compressed natural gas (CNG)		    		     $0.120 /gal                                $0.133 /gal
     Liquefied natural gas (LNG)			                                $0.120 /gal                                $0.206 /gal	
     Water-phased hydrocarbon fuel emulsion (A-55)		     $0.120 /gal                                $0.120 /gal   


