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 TAXATION AND REVENUE DEPARTMENT
WATER CONSERVATION FEE RETURN

Mail to:   Taxation and Revenue Department, P.O. Box 25123, Santa Fe, NM 87504-5123 

WHO MUST FILE: On every person who operates a public water supply system is imposed a water conservation fee in an 
amount equal to three cents ($0.03) per thousand gallons of water produced. See the instructions for important definitions.
WHEN TO FILE: The water conservation fee is due on or before the 25th day of the month following the close of the report-
ing period in which the water was produced. If no water was produced for the applicable reporting period, no report is due. 
A reporting period may be monthly, quarterly or semi-annually. 
Make the check or money order payable to Taxation and Revenue Department. Mail the bottom portion of this form with 
payment to:
			   New Mexico Taxation and Revenue Department
			   P.O. Box 25123
			   Santa Fe, NM 87504-5123

Retain the top portion for your records. For assistance call (505) 827-0763.
NOTE:  When you provide a check as payment, you authorize us to use information from your check to make a one-time electronic fund 
transfer from your account. When we use information from your check to make an electronic fund transfer, funds may be withdrawn from 
your account as soon as the same day you make your payment.

Signature ________________________________  Date ______________  Phone ____________  E-mail address _____________________

WATER CONSERVATION FEE

PLEASE CUT AND INCLUDE THE BOTTOM PORTION WITH YOUR PAYMENT  
RETAIN THE UPPER PORTION FOR YOUR RECORDS 
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INSTRUCTIONS

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THIS FORM: 
Complete all information requested on the form. Enter your 
company's Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN) 
or your Social Security Number (SSN), the New Mexico Busi-
ness Tax Identification Number (NMBTIN)(formally known as 
the CRS number), the name of the owner of the public water 
supply system and mailing address.  Enter the report period 
as monthly, quarterly or semi-annually. Enter the month, day 
and year of the first day of the first month of the reporting 
period, and the month, day and year of the last day of the last 
month of the reporting period. See the instructions below to 
complete lines 1 through 6. Check the amended box if you 
are amending a previously filed return. Upon completion of 
the form, sign, date and enter your phone number and E-mail 
address on the return.

LINE INSTRUCTIONS:

Line 1:	Total gallons subject to fee.
Enter the number of gallons of water produced during the 
report period subject to the water conservation fee.

Line 2:	Line 1 divided by 1,000. 
Round to the nearest whole number.

Line 3:	Total fee.
Multiply line 2 by 0.03. This is the water conservation fee due.

Line 4:	Penalty.  
Add penalty if the entity fails to file timely or to pay the amount 
on line 3 when due. Calculate the penalty by multiplying 
the unpaid amount on line 3 by 2%, then by the number of 
months or partial months for which the return or payment is 
late, not to exceed 20% of the tax due. Penalty for failure to 
file or pay on time may not be less than $5.00. 

Line 5:	 Interest. 
Interest accrues daily on the unpaid principal of tax due, and 
can change on a quarterly basis.  The effective annual and 
daily interest rates are posted on the Department's web page 
at www.tax.newmexico.gov or can be obtained by contacting 
the Department.

Line 6:	Total due. 
Add lines 3, 4 and 5. 

NOTE:  When you provide a check as payment, you authorize us 
to use information from your check to make a one-time electronic 
fund transfer from your account. When we use information from 
your check to make an electronic fund transfer, funds may be with-
drawn from your account as soon as the same day you make your 
payment.

DEFINITIONS:

A public water supply system means a system that pro-
vides piped water to the public for human consumption and 
that has at least 15 service connections or regularly services 
an average of at least 25 individuals at least 60 days per 
year. A public water supply system which temporarily has 
fewer than 15 service connections remains a public water 
supply system. If a system permanently reduces its service 
connections below 15 and the system does not serve 25 or 
more individuals for 60 days or more, it no longer is a public 
water supply system.

When is water produced? When water is extracted from 
any surface or subsurface source by or for a public water 
supply system, that water is produced for purposes of the 
water conservation fee. A public water supply system pro-
duces water when another person, not a public water supply 
system, extracts water under contract with or as agent for the 
public water supply system. Water is produced only once.


