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Section I: Mark the box below that applies to you. Refer to Alternative Methods on page 2 of the instructions for further 
details.
1.  I may elect to use an alternative method of computing estimated tax due because (check

 
one):

		  My income varied during the year, and I was not required to pay estimated personal income tax until 
		  after March 31, 2010; (Both statements must be true.)
		  I am a farmer or rancher who expects to receive two-thirds of gross income for 2010 from ranching or 
		  farming, or I have received at least two-thirds of my gross income for the previous tax year from farming 
		  or ranching; or
		  I wish to compute estimated payments based on the actual dates on which all amounts of withholding 
		  tax were withheld for tax year 2010.  
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HOW TO USE THIS FORM
You need to complete this form only if you have elected to use an alternative method of computing estimated tax 
due. If you do not elect to use an alternative method, the Department will compute your liability, if any, using the standard 
method and will send you an assessment for penalty due. Alternative methods of computing estimated tax are described on 
page 2 of the instructions. If one of the alternative methods for calculation of penalty on underpayment of estimated income 
tax applies to you, complete this form and attach it to your 2010 New Mexico PIT-1 form. You must also mark the indicator 
box on Line 31 of Form PIT-1. If you do not need to file this form, you may use it to calculate penalty, but do not submit this 
form to the Department. See also Publication FYI-320, PIT-ES: Personal Income Tax Estimated Payments, for a complete 
explanation of calculating estimated personal income tax and how to make estimated personal income tax payments. 

NOTE: No penalty is imposed if the difference between Line 4 in Column 2 of Section II, and tax withheld and reported on 
Lines 24 and 25, Form 2010 PIT-1, for the tax year is less than $500. You do not owe the penalty. Do not file this form. 
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Print your name (first, middle, last) Enter your social security number 

Section II: Calculate the required annual payment. 
Enter the amounts from the New Mexico personal income tax forms and schedules for the tax year shown at the top of 
the Column. Do not complete the Column for 2009 if you did not file a full, 
12-month New Mexico PIT-1 return for tax year 2009. NOTE: If you are a 
first-year resident in 2010, you are not required to make estimated payments.

Column 1 (2009)      Column 2 (2010)

2.	 For Column 1 enter the amount from Line 19, Form 2009 PIT-1. For Column 
2 enter amount of Net New Mexico income tax from Line 20, Form 2010 
PIT-1. 

3.	 For Column 1 enter the amount reported on Line 21 Form 2009 PIT-1. For 
Column 2 enter the sum of rebates and credits from Line 22, Form 2010 
PIT-1 plus any working families tax credit claimed on Line 23. 

4.	 Subtract Line 3 from Line 2 and enter here. If the difference between the 
amount on this Line, Column 2 and the income tax withheld on Lines 24 
and 25, Form 2010 PIT-1 is less than $500, stop here. You do not owe 
the penalty. Do not file this form. See note under How to Use this Form, 
above.

2

3

4

5

6

7

5.	 Multiply Column 2, Line 4, by 90% (0.90) and enter here. 

6.	 Enter the amount of Column 1, Line 4 in Column 2, Line 6. If you did not 
complete Column 1, or if Column 1, Line 4 is a negative number, enter 
zero.

 7.	 Enter the lesser of Lines 5 and 6. This is your required annual payment.
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Section IV: Calculate the underpayment.
Complete rows 12 and 13 according to the instructions 8 through 11 above. Then continue with Line 14. Complete Lines 14 
through 20 for each Column before going on to the next Column. Do not complete fields that are shaded.

Installment Due Dates
(a)

    4/15/10	
		

(b)
    6/15/10	
	

(c)
     9/15/10	
	

(d)
     1/18/11	
	

12.

13.

15.

16.

17.

14.

18.

19.

20.

12.	Required estimated payments. See instructions 8 
through 10.

13. Estimated tax paid and tax withheld. See instruction 	11 
to complete this Line. 

14. Enter amount of overpayment, if any, from Line 20 of 
the previous Column.

15. Add Lines 13 and 14.

16. Enter the sum of Lines 18 and 19 from previous Column.

17. Subtract Line 16 from Line 15. If zero or less, enter 
zero. For Column (a) only, enter the amount from Line 13.

18. If the amount on Line 17 is zero, subtract Line 15 from 	
Line 16; otherwise, enter zero. 

19. Underpayment. If Line 12 is equal to or more than Line 
17, subtract Line 17 from Line 12. Then go to Line 14 of 
the next Column; otherwise, go to Line 20. 

20. Overpayment. If Line 17 is more than Line 12, subtract 
Line 12 from Line 17. Then go to Line 14 of the next 
Column.

Section III: Calculate the amount and timing of the required estimated tax payments due:
8.  Standard Method: If you were required to make estimated tax payments on or before March 31, multiply the required 

annual payment, Line 7, by 25% (0.25). Enter this amount on Line 12 in each of the Columns in the table below and go 
to Line 11. Skip Lines 9 and 10.

9.	 Annualized Income Method: If you did not have income sufficient to require a payment until after March 31, review 
Lines 9a, 9b and 9c and complete Line 12 according to the instructions that apply. Then go to Line 11. Skip Line 10.

9a.	If you were required to make estimated tax payments after March 31 but before June 1, multiply the required annual 
payment, Line 7, by 50% and enter on Line 12, Column (b). Multiply the required annual payment, Line 7, by 25% and 
enter that amount on Line 12, Columns (c) and (d). 

9b. If you were required to make estimated tax payments after May 31 but before September 1, multiply the required 
annual payment, Line 7, by 75% and enter that amount on Line 12, Column (c). Then multiply the required annual 
payment, Line 7, by 25% and enter that amount on Line 12, Column (d). 

9c.	If you were required to make estimated tax payments after August 31, enter 100% of the required annual pay-
	 ment, Line 7, on Line 12, Column (d). 	

10. Farmers or Ranchers: If you are a qualified farmer or rancher, enter 100% of the required annual payment on Line 12, 
Column (d) and go to Line 11. NOTE: Mark “5” on Line 31, Form PIT-1, and attach Form RPD-41272 to the return, if a 
qualified farmer or rancher who files and pays the tax in full on or before March 1 of the year following the tax year of the 
return. No penalty is due. Complete Sections I through IV, and enter zero on page 3, Line 34. 

11. Total withholding tax and estimated tax paid. To complete line 13, divide the tax withheld for the 2010 tax year by four 
and add an equal amount of tax withheld to the estimated tax paid per payment period. If you elect to compute estimated 
installment payments based on the actual dates on which all amounts of withholding tax were withheld for the applicable 
year, enter the total taxes withheld for the quarter in Columns (a) through (d), based on the actual date the amounts 
were withheld. Then, for each Column enter the total tax withheld prior to the date above the Column if it was a calendar 
tax year, and the equivalent payment period due date if it was a fiscal year. For Columns (b), (c) and (d), do not include 
amounts withheld and reported in the previous Column. Include amounts carried forward from the prior-year personal 
income tax return in Column (a). 

	

Installment due dates. For calendar year taxpayers, the 
due dates of the installments are entered for you. If a fis-
cal year filer, strike through the dates entered and enter 
the correct installment due dates. See WHEN IS EACH 
INSTALLMENT PAYMENT DUE? in the instructions.
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Check here if you wish the Department to compute the penalty on underpayment of estimated personal income tax 
that you owe. If you choose to have the Department compute the penalty, you do not need to complete Section V. You 
must complete Sections I through IV, however, or the Department cannot calculate your penalty using an alternative 
method of computing estimated tax and you may be assessed based on the standard method. To compute the penalty, 
continue with Section V.

21.	 Enter the underpayment of estimated tax for the quarter, from Line 
19, Section IV. 

22.	 Enter the due date of the installment from the table in Section IV.

23.	 Enter the date the underpayment on Line 21 was paid or the 15th 
day of the fourth month after the close of the tax year, whichever is 
earlier. See HOW INSTALLMENT PAYMENTS ARE APPLIED in the 
instructions.

24. 	 Number of days from the due date of the installment (Line 22) to the 
date shown on Line 23. 

25.	 Number of days on Line 24, after 4/15/2010 and before 7/1/2010. 

26.	 Underpayment on Line 21 X Number of days on Line 25 X 4% =

					     	
	 365

27.	 Number of days on Line 24, after 6/30/2010 and before 10/1/2010. 

28.	 Underpayment on Line 21 X Number of days on Line 27 X 4% =

					     	
	 365

29.	 Number of days on Line 24, after 9/30/2010 and before 1/1/2011. 

30.	 Underpayment on Line 21 X Number of days on Line 29 X 4% =
							      365

31.	 Number of days on Line 24, after 12/31/2010 and before 4/15/2011. 

32.	 Underpayment on Line 21 X Number of days on Line 31 X 3% =
							      365

33. 	 For each Column, add Lines 26, 28, 30 and 32. 

34.	 Add Columns (a) through (d) of Line 33. Enter the total here.This is 
your total penalty on underpayment of estimated income tax.

Section V: Compute the penalty on underpayment of estimat-
ed installment payments.  Complete this section to calculate the 
penalty you owe.

21

22

26

28

(a) (b) (c) (d)

23

24

25

27

29

30

31

32

33

34

1st Qtr 3rd Qtr2nd Qtr 4th Qtr
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WHO MUST MAKE ESTIMATED PAYMENTS?
Every individual who must file a personal income tax return 
under the Income Tax Act also must pay estimated income 
tax. The way to do this is through either withholding or 
estimated tax payments. There is a penalty for under-
payment or nonpayment of estimated tax.  
There is no penalty for underpayment of estimated in-
come tax if:
•	 You are a first-year resident; 
•	 The tax (net New Mexico income tax less total rebates 

and credits) shown on your return for the current year, 
less amounts withheld from Lines 24 and 25, Form 
PIT-1, is under $500;

•	 Your tax liability for the tax year is less than $500; or
•	 You are a full-year New Mexico resident whose previous 

tax year was a 12-month tax year and you owed zero 
tax for your preceding tax return.

HOW MUCH ESTIMATED TAX SHOULD YOU PAY?
To calculate estimated tax, first determine the “required 
annual payment” or the total amount of estimated tax to 
be paid during the tax year.
The required annual payment is the lesser of:
•	 90% of the tax on the current year’s return (or the tax 

for the year if no return is filed), or
•	 100% of the tax on the prior-year return, but only if 

you filed a return for a full 12-month year.
When you have figured the required annual payment, then 
determine the amount and timing for each estimated tax 
installment payment.
WHEN IS EACH INSTALLMENT PAYMENT DUE?
Generally, four equal installments of the required an-
nual payment are due on or before the 15th day of the 
fourth, sixth, and ninth months of the tax year and the 
first month of the following year. For most calendar-year 
taxpayers those dates are:
               April 15		  June 15
	            September 15		  January 15
Sometimes a due date for an estimated payment is a 
Saturday, Sunday, state or national legal holiday. The 
estimated payment is timely when the postmark bears 
the date of the next business day. Delivery by a private 
delivery service is timely if the date on the delivery service 
records is on or before the required mailing date.
SPECIAL RULES APPLY TO CERTAIN TAXPAYERS.
There are exceptions to the general rules for determining 
the timing and amount of each estimated installment pay-
ment and for determining receipt of estimated payments. 
Each exception is described on page 2 of these instruc-
tions. If one of the special rules applies, you may use a 
special method of calculating penalty on underpayment 
of estimated income tax by using Form RPD-41272 10, 
2010 Calculation of Estimated Personal Income Tax Un-

derpayment Penalty.
HOW TO REPORT A SPECIAL METHOD OF CALCULATION 
OF ESTIMATED PERSONAL INCOME TAX UNDERPAY-
MENT PENALTY. 
If you qualify for a special method of calculating estimated 
personal income tax underpayment penalty, you may reduce 
your penalty by filing Form RPD-41272 10, 2010 Calculation 
of Estimated Personal Income Tax Underpayment Penalty 
with your PIT-1 return. You must also mark the indicator box 
on Line 31 of Form PIT-1 2010 as instructed below. If you 
submit an incomplete or inaccurate Form RPD-41272 10, or 
you do not follow the directions for completing Line 31, the 
Department will determine any estimated personal income tax 
penalty due based on the standard method.
HOW TO COMPLETE THE INDICATOR BOX ON LINE 31, 
FORM PIT-1 2010.
If you qualify, you must enter 1, 2, 3, 4 or 5 in the indicator 
box on Line 31 on Form PIT-1, or your estimated personal 
income tax underpayment penalty will be calculated using the 
standard method. Enter 1 if you wish to compute estimated 
payments based on the actual dates on which all amounts 
of withholding tax were withheld for the applicable tax year. 
If you have annualized income and are required to file esti-
mated payments beginning with the 2nd, 3rd, or 4th quarter 
estimated installment due date, enter 2, 3, or 4 respectively. 
If you qualify for special rules because you are a farmer or 
rancher, enter 5. Note: Enter 5, even when you filed and paid 
the tax due by March 1, 2011. 
HOW TO COMPLETE THIS FORM.
To calculate estimated tax using this form, first determine the 
“required annual payment” in Section II. When you have 
figured the required annual payment, determine the amount 
and timing for each estimated tax installment payment in 
Sections III and IV. Use Section V to compute the penalty on 
underpayment of estimated installment payments. 
If you wish the Department to calculate the penalty for you, 
complete Sections I through IV, mark the box on page 3 of 
Form RPD-41272 10, and follow the instructions for reporting 
the special calculation method.
HOW INSTALLMENT PAYMENTS ARE APPLIED. A pay-
ment of estimated tax is credited against unpaid or underpaid 
installments in the order in which the installment is required 
to be paid. Therefore, an installment payment is applied first 
to the earliest installment payment due. Section IV, computes 
the underpayment on Line 19, applying each payment first to 
any balance due on a prior underpaid installment.  
HOW TO CALCULATE THE PENALTY FOR UNDERPAY-
MENT OR NONPAYMENT OF ESTIMATED PERSONAL 
INCOME TAX.
Underpayment or nonpayment of estimated tax is subject 
to penalty on the difference between the estimated tax pay-
ment and the actual amount of estimated tax due. Penalty 
accumulates from the due date of the estimated tax payment 
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to make an estimated payment. For example, if you are 
making an estimated payment for your 2010 tax return due 
in 2011, make certain that your PIT-ES form indicates the 
2010 tax year. Write your social security number and the 
tax year of the return to which the payment applies on the 
check or money order. Make the payment payable to New 
Mexico Taxation and Revenue Department and mail with 
Form PIT-ES to:

Taxation and Revenue Department
P.O. Box 8390

Santa Fe, NM 87504-8390
ALTERNATIVE METHODS FOR CALCULATION OF ES-
TIMATED PERSONAL INCOME TAX. 
Annualized income. Taxpayers with seasonal income 
can use a modified annualization method to determine the 
amount and timing of their estimated payments. If a taxpayer 
does not have annualized income based on actual income 
received through March 31 sufficient to require a payment, 
no payment is required. The test dates for subsequent pay-
ments are  May  31,  August  31  and  December 31. Based 
on actual income received, if a taxpayer is not required to 
make a payment for a specific period, the taxpayer may 
have to make up later in the year for not paying the earlier 
installment. See Publication FYI-320, PIT-ES: Personal 
Income Estimated Tax Payments, for more information on 
how to compute Annualized Income. 
Farmers and Ranchers. The law provides a special rule, 
identical to the federal rule, for farmers and ranchers who 
expect to receive at least two-thirds of their GROSS income 
from farming or ranching, or who received at least two-
thirds of their GROSS income from farming or ranching in 
the prior year. Farmers and ranchers who meet the gross 
income test may:
1)	 make one estimated payment in the amount of the 		
	 “required annual payment” on or before January 15 of 	
	 the year following the tax year of the return, or
2)	 file and pay in full on or before March 1 of the year 
	 following the tax year of the return.
On joint returns the farmer or rancher must consider the 
spouse’s gross income in determining whether the two-
thirds-of-gross-income test is met.
Individuals who wish to compute estimated install-
ment payments based on the actual dates on which all 
amounts of withholding tax were withheld for the ap-
plicable tax year. The New Mexico income tax deducted 
and withheld by an employer is a payment of estimated tax. 
An equal amount of the tax withheld shall be considered 
as paid on each installment due date unless the taxpayer 
establishes the dates on which all amounts were actually 
withheld. This provision may be applied separately to wage 
and pension withholding and other amounts withheld under 
the Withholding Tax Act.

until the earlier of:  
•	 the date the payment is made, or
•	 the 15th day of the fourth month following the close of 

the tax year.
New Mexico calculates penalty (in the form of interest) on un-
derpayment of estimated tax at the annual rate established 
each quarter for individual income tax purposes under the 
U.S. Internal Revenue Code (IRC). Penalty is computed on 
a daily basis for each day the payment is late. The formula 
for calculating penalty is:
Underpay-  X  number of days late    X  effective annual
ment due        total days in the year       interest rate  
				               for the quarter
Beginning January 1, 2008, the interest rate is reduced to the 
annual rate established each quarter for individual income 
tax purposes under the U.S. Internal Revenue Code (IRC). 
The IRC rate for each three-month period is announced by 
the IRS in the last month of the previous quarter. The annual 
rate for each quarter will be updated as the information is 
released. The annual and daily interest rates for the each 
quarter will also be posted on the Department’s web site. 
No penalty applies to the fourth estimated payment if the 
taxpayer files a return and pays the entire amount on or 
before January 31 of the following year.
If the balance due is $500 or more, the Department first 
determines if the required annual payment was made in 
timely installments. If it was not, the Department calculates 
the underpayment penalty and issues an assessment. If 
you believe an assessment is in error, you can protest the 
assessment and provide more information. 
NOTE:  A special rule applies for computing the under-
payment penalty for personal estimated income tax. The 
interest rate that applies to the 1st quarter following the tax 
year also applies to the 1st 15 days of the 4th month (April) 
following the tax year.
HOW TO PAY AN ESTIMATED INSTALLMENT PAYMENT.
You may pay through the Department’s web site at www.tax.
newmexico.gov. Click on “Online Services”. You may pay by 
electronic check at no charge. An electronic check autho-
rizes the Department to debit your checking account in the 
amount you specify. You may also make tax payments via 
credit card. A convenience fee of 2.49% is required to use 
this service. The fee reimburses the state for fees charged 
by the credit card company.
To make an estimated installment payment by check, obtain 
the PIT-ES Form from your personal income tax packet, the 
Department’s web site, one of the Department’s district of-
fices, or from your tax return preparation software. Ensure 
that your form indicates the correct tax year on the 
PIT-ES. To ensure your payment is applied to correctly, 
the form must indicate the correct tax year which you wish 
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