
 BEFORE THE HEARING OFFICER 

 OF THE TAXATION AND REVENUE DEPARTMENT 

 OF THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO 

 

 

IN THE MATTER OF THE PROTEST OF 

JEANNIE L. MYERS      No. 11-24 

TO ASSESSMENT ISSUED UNDER LETTER 

ID NO. L0893691456 

 

 

DECISION AND ORDER 

 

 A hearing was held on the above captioned matter on October 4, 2011 before Brian 

VanDenzen Esq., Hearing Officer, in Santa Fe.  Ms. Jeannie L. Myers (“Taxpayer”) appeared pro 

se telephonically from Reserve, New Mexico.  The Taxation and Revenue Department of the 

State of New Mexico (“Department”) was represented by Special Attorney General and Chief 

Legal Counsel, Nelson Goodin.  Extern Jordan M. DeHann, a law student, was allowed to 

participate in the hearing pursuant to Rule 1-094.  Protest Auditor Andrick Tsbatseaye appeared 

as a witness for the Department.  In addition to the documents contained in the Administrative 

File articulated in the beginning of the hearing, Department Exhibit A (Taxpayer’s 2010 PIT 

Return) and Department Exhibit B (July 19, 2011 Letter of Andrick Tsabetsaye) are admitted 

into the record.  Based on the evidence and arguments presented, IT IS DECIDED AND 

ORDERED AS FOLLOWS: 

 

FINDINGS OF FACT 

1. Since 2005, Taxpayer has been a full time resident of New Mexico on a fixed out-

of-state retirement income. 
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2. In 2009, Taxpayer had a personal income tax liability of $493, less than the $500 

minimum difference between income earned and wage withholdings that triggers imposition of 

penalty for failure to make estimated tax payments. 

3. In tax year 2010 (“TY10”), Taxpayer remained on a fixed retirement income from 

the State of California that by itself resulted in personal income tax liability below $500. 

4. In TY10, Taxpayer accepted a temporary position with the Census Bureau. 

5. Taxpayer set-up set wage withholding on her TY10 Census Bureau pay.  The total 

of that wage withholding was $21.00. 

6. Taxpayer’s pay from this temporary position with the Census Bureau pushed her 

personal income tax liability above $500 more than her wage withholding. 

7. Taxpayer did not make any quarterly estimated tax payments for TY10. 

8. For TY10, Taxpayer had a total personal income tax liability of $742.00.  

Subtracting the $21.00 of withholdings, Taxpayer’s personal income liability was $721.00. 

9. Taxpayer filed and paid her TY10 personal income taxes on April 14, 2011 

10. On June 9, 2011, the Department assessed Taxpayer for $12.28 in penalty for 

failure to make quarterly estimated payments. 

11. On June 13, 2011, Taxpayer paid the assessed penalty in the amount of $12.28, 

filed a protest to the assessment, and requested a refund for her $12.28 payment. 

12. On June 21, 2011, the Department acknowledged Taxpayer’s protest. 

13. On August 24, 2011, the Department requested a hearing. 

14. On August 26, 2011, the Hearing Bureau issued Notice of Administrative 

Hearing, scheduling the hearing for October 4, 2011.     
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DISCUSSION 

 Taxpayer protests the imposition of penalty for her failure to make quarterly estimated 

payments.  There are two issues in this case:  first, whether Taxpayer qualifies for an exception to 

the assessment of penalty for failure to make estimated quarterly tax payments under NMSA 

1978, Section 7-2-12.2 (H) (2010), which is the basis of the Department FYI-320 form that 

Taxpayer relies upon; and second, whether Taxpayer’s previous excellent payment history 

mandates equitable relief in this situation.  While Taxpayer’s situation is unfortunate, especially 

in light of her otherwise excellent payment history, no exception applies that allows the 

Department to abate penalty and the hearing officer lacks the authority to grant equitable relief 

based on previous payment history.   

 

Presumption of Correctness and Burden of Proof.   

 Under NMSA 1978, Section 7-1-17(C) (2007), the assessment issued in this case is 

presumed to be correct.  Consequently, the Taxpayer has the burden to overcome the assessment 

and establish that he or she was not required to pay the assessment.  See Archuleta v. O'Cheskey, 

84 N.M. 428, 431, 504 P.2d 638, 641 (NM Ct. App. 1972). 

 

Payment of Estimated Tax. 

  Under NMSA 1978, § 7-2-12.2 (2010), all individuals subject to income tax are required 

to make annual installment payments on their income tax either through withholdings or through 

estimated quarterly tax payments.  In instances where a taxpayer fails to make required estimated 

tax payments, and no other exception applies, the legislature mandates by the use of the word 
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“shall” that the Department impose a penalty on that taxpayer.  NMSA 1978, § 7-2-12.2(G) 

(2010). 

 NMSA 1978, § 7-2-12.2 (2010) applies to taxpayers whether their tax liability is more or 

less than $500.  Although Taxpayer repeatedly pointed out that her personal income tax liability 

in previous tax years did not exceed $500, she still was required by statute to either have 

withholdings or make estimated tax payments even when her tax liability was less than $500. 

Where the $500 amount that Taxpayer references comes into play is determining whether a 

taxpayer’s failure to have an appropriate withholding or make estimated tax payments, as 

required by statute, is subject to a civil penalty.  When the difference between the tax liability and 

the withholding is less than $500, than a taxpayer’s failure to make estimated payments in 

violation of NMSA 1978, § 7-2-12.2 (2010) is nevertheless exempted from penalty under NMSA 

1978, § 7-2-12.2(H)(1) (2010).  In this case, Taxpayer’s tax liability for 2010 was $742.00.  Her 

withholding was only $21, meaning that the difference between her withholding and her income 

tax liability exceeded $500.  Consequently, Taxpayer gets no shelter from penalty under NMSA 

1978, § 7-2-12.2(H)(1) (2010).   

 The other exceptions mentioned under NMSA 1978, § 7-2-12.2(H) (2010) do not apply to 

Taxpayer.  NMSA 1978, § 7-2-12.2(H)(2) (2010) does not apply in this situation because  

Taxpayer did have a tax liability in the previous year of $493.  NMSA 1978, § 7-2-12.2(H)(3) 

(2010) also does not apply because Taxpayer did not pay her 2009 tax liability through either 

withholding or estimated tax payments but through one-time payment when she filed her 

personal income tax return.  There is no indication that the Secretary of the Department, pursuant 

to NMSA 1978, § 7-2-12.2(H)(4) (2010), determined that the underpayment did not result from 

“…negligence, or disregard of rules and regulations.”  In fact, although not an intentional 
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oversight, Taxpayer did disregard the rules requiring withholding or estimated tax payments even 

before 2010 when her tax liability was below $500. 

 Taxpayer’s main argument in support of her position is a document she attached to her 

protest letter:  FYI-320, a Department publication informing a taxpayer of when estimated tax 

payments are required.  Taxpayer is correct that FYI-320 is somewhat confusing.  However, 

reading FYI-320 in conjunction with the statute, the exceptions to penalty listed on FYI-320 do 

not apply to Taxpayer.  Under the first exception to penalty under FYI-320, which tracks NMSA 

1978, § 7-2-12.2(H)(2) (2010), Taxpayer did have a personal income tax liability the previous 

year, making her ineligible for that exception.  Under the second exception listed on FYI-320,  

which tracks 1978, § 7-2-12.2(H)(3) (2010), Taxpayer did not either pay 100% her previous 

year’s personal income tax liability or pay 90% of the current year’s tax liability with 

withholding or estimated payment because in 2009 she made a lump sum payment with her tax 

filing and her withholding in 2010 did not meet or exceed 90% of her TY10 tax liability.   

 Since no exception applied to this situation, the Department imposed a penalty on 

Taxpayer for her failure to make quarterly estimated tax payments under NMSA 1978, § 7-2-12.2 

(G) (2010).  That penalty amount was calculated at $12.28. 

 It is worth briefly discussing the amount of assessed penalty.  The Department is 

compelled by the legislature to issue an assessment for any tax liability in excess of $25.00.  See 

NMSA 1978, Section 7-1-17 (A) (2007).  The Department is prohibited by its own regulation to 

issue an assessment if the tax liability at issue is less than $10.00.  See 6.1.6.9 NMAC (1/15/01).  

The variance in the minimum levels needed to issue an assessment between the statutory and 

regulatory amount may come from the fact that the regulation has not been amended to reflect 

more recent statutory changes.  However, as currently written, while the Department is prohibited 
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from assessing for a liability less than $10.00 and is compelled to assess for a liability above 

$25.00, the Department has the discretion to assess for a tax liability between $10.00 and $25.00. 

The Department chose to exercise its discretion in this case in assessing Taxpayer for penalty in 

the amount of $12.28, an assessment that as discussed above is supported by statute.   

   

Taxpayer’s Request for Equitable Relief.       

 Taxpayer argued that given her excellent payment history, her inability to have California 

set up a New Mexico wage withholding, and her uncertainty as to whether her temporary 

employment would push her tax-liability above $500, justice dictates that penalty be abated in 

this case even if the letter of the law says differently.  Although Taxpayer uses the language of 

justice, what she is really arguing for is equitable relief. 

 However, unlike a court, the Hearing Officer generally lacks authority to consider 

equitable relief in an administrative hearing under the Tax Administration Act.  The adjudicative 

functions of an administrative agency like the Department are considered by New Mexico courts 

to be “quasi-judicial” powers.  According to the New Mexico Supreme Court, the quasi-judicial 

powers of an administrative agency do not include the authority to grant equitable relief to a party 

before the agency.  See AA Oilfield Service v. New Mexico State Corporation Commission, 118 

N.M. 273, 279, 881 P.2d 18, 24 (1994).  Further, the Department (including this Hearing Officer) 

lack authority to ignore the legislature’s mandate that penalty “shall” be imposed under NMSA 

1978, § 7-2-12.2 (G) (2010).  Taxpayer’s protest and claim for refund is denied.    
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CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

1. Taxpayer filed a timely, written protest of the assessment of penalty under Letter 

No. # L8936914560, and jurisdiction lies over the parties and the subject matter of this protest. 

2. The Taxpayer is liable for penalty under NMSA 1978, § 7-2-12.2 (G) (2010). 

3. No exception under NMSA 1978, § 7-2-12.2(H) (2010) allows abatement of 

penalty. 

4. The Hearing Officer lacks authority to grant equitable relief despite Taxpayer’s past 

payment history. 

 For the foregoing reasons, the Taxpayer's protest IS DENIED. 

    DATED:  October 11, 2011.  

        

      BRIAN VANDENZEN 

      Hearing Officer 

      Taxation & Revenue Department 

      Post Office Box 630 

      Santa Fe, NM 87504-0630 

   


