
BEFORE THE HEARING OFFICER 

OF THE TAXATION AND REVENUE DEPARTMENT 

OF THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO 

 

 

IN THE MATTER OF THE PROTEST OF 

EDWARD R. MARSHALL JR. 

TO ASSESSMENTS ISSUED UNDER  

LETTER ID NO. L1771057216     No. 11-01 

 

 

DECISION AND ORDER 

 
 A formal hearing on the above-referenced protest was held on December 7, 2010, before 

Sally Galanter, Hearing Officer.  The Taxation and Revenue Department ("Department") was 

represented by Peter Breen, Special Assistant Attorney General.  Mr. Thomas Dillon appeared as a 

witness on behalf of the Department. Mr. Edward Marshall Jr. (“Taxpayer”) appeared 

representing himself. Based on the evidence and arguments presented, IT IS DECIDED AND 

ORDERED AS FOLLOWS: 

FINDINGS OF FACT 

1. In 2006, Taxpayer, moved to New Mexico and worked for a start up business 

selling water treatment services in Santa Fe.   

2. The Taxpayer earned approximately $26,000.00 working for this start up business 

in Santa Fe.  

3. During the same year Taxpayer earned income in Nebraska.  

4. For tax year 2006, Taxpayer filed his Federal personal income tax return 

indicating gross receipts on Schedule C, filed an income tax return in Nebraska, but was a non- 

filer in New Mexico. (Taxpayer Exhibit 1).  

5. The tape match system, based on tax information supplied from the Internal 

Revenue Service (IRS), revealed the discrepancy between the federal and New Mexico state tax 
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returns.  

6. On July 23, 2008, as a result of the tape-match information obtained from the 

IRS, the Department mailed to Taxpayer a notice of limited scope audit concerning the Personal 

Income Tax discrepancy or non-filed return for tax year 2006. (Taxpayer Exhibit 1)  

7. Upon receipt of the notice of limited scope audit of personal income tax, 

Taxpayer spoke with Department employees about the situation.  Based on these conversations, 

Taxpayer determined that he should have filed and paid personal income tax for Tax Year 2006.  

Taxpayer thus paid personal income tax, penalty, and interest for the outstanding tax year 2006 

income tax.  

8. The discussions between the Department and Taxpayer related only to the 

Taxpayer’s potential liability for personal income tax under the notice of limited scope audit of 

personal income taxes.  There was no discussion at that point about gross receipts taxes relating 

to services performed by the Taxpayer’s Santa Fe business.  .  

9. On November 25, 2009, the Department sent to Taxpayer a Notice of Limited 

Scope Audit commencement for failure to pay gross receipts based on the Schedule C 

information obtained from the IRS. (Taxpayer Exhibit 2)  

10. On December 9, 2009, the Department assessed Taxpayer project gross receipts 

tax in the amount of $1,801.16 in principal, $360.24 in penalty and $497.94 in interest for a total 

of $2,659.34 for tax period ending December 31, 2007. (Department Exhibit A)  

11. Taxpayer timely filed a written protest to the assessment on December 21, 2009. 
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(Taxpayer Exhibit 4)   

12. In the protest letter, Taxpayers acknowledged owing the gross receipts tax but 

protested the assessment for penalty and interest. (Taxpayer Exhibit 4)  

13. On December 30, 2009, Mr. Dillon, the Department’s Protest Auditor, responded 

by letter to Taxpayer’s issues in his protest letter notifying Taxpayer of the statutorily mandatory 

nature of penalty and interest and that interest accrues until the principal is paid. (Taxpayer 

Exhibit 3) 

14. On January 4, 2010, Taxpayer paid the principal gross receipts tax. (Department 

Exhibit B)  

DISCUSSION 

 The primary issue to be decided is whether Taxpayer is liable for penalty and interest 

assessed for gross receipts due to the non-reporting of gross receipts for services in the tax period 

ending December 2006.  Taxpayer paid the principal gross receipt tax but seeks abatement of 

penalty and interest. Taxpayer’s claim for abatement of penalty and interest is that the 

Department’s employees who initially helped him should have alerted him to his potential gross 

receipts tax liability.  Had these employees notified him that he had a potential liability for gross 

receipts tax, he would have paid the gross receipt tax liability in 2008 when he paid the personal 

income tax liability.  

 Burden of Proof.  NMSA 1978, §7-1-17(C) (2007) provides that any assessment of tax 

by the Department is presumed to be correct.  Regulation 3.1.6.12 (A) NMAC explains that once 
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an assessment is mailed to a taxpayer that the presumption of correctness attaches and that 

therefore the taxpayer has the burden to dispute the correctness with evidence. Also NMSA 

1978, §7-1-3 NMSA (2009) defines tax to include not only the amount of tax principal imposed 

but also, unless the context otherwise requires, “the amount of any interest or civil penalty 

relating thereto."  See El Centro Villa Nursing Center v. Taxation and Revenue Department, 108 

N.M. 795, 779 P.2d 982 (Ct. App. 1989). See also, Regulation 3.1.6.13 NMAC. Accordingly, the 

presumption of correctness applies to the assessment of principal tax, to the penalty and interest, 

and it is Taxpayer’s burden to present evidence and legal argument to establish that they are not 

liable for the gross receipts tax and are entitled to an abatement of interest and penalty.  

 Gross Receipts Tax Due. NMSA 1978, § 7-9-4 (1990) imposes an excise tax on the 

gross receipts of any person engaging in business in New Mexico.  The definition of “engaging 

in business” is very broad including “carrying on or causing to be carried on any activity with the 

purpose of direct or indirect benefit.”  NMSA, 1978, § 7-9-3.3 (2002).  The statute makes no 

distinction between activities engaged in by large corporations and activities engaged in by 

individuals.   

 Pursuant to NMSA 1978, §7-9-3.5 (A) (1) (2007), gross receipts “means the total amount 

of money…received…from performing services in New Mexico.” Specifically Regulation 

3.2.1.18 (P) (3) NMAC states,  

Receipts from providing day care for children in a situation where 
a person provides day care for children in a residence and the care 
for all these children is paid for by the state of New Mexico are 
subject to gross receipts tax.  
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In this case, Taxpayer earned approximately $26,000.00 income in New Mexico assisting a 

business in its start up operations but failed to file a New Mexico Income Tax Return. Because 

this activity is included in “engaging in an activity” with the result of receiving a monetary 

benefit and because Taxpayer was performing this service in New Mexico, Taxpayer is liable for 

gross receipts tax on his income from those services. 

 Negligence.  Taxpayer’s initial claim of negligence by the Department is based on the 

length of time taken by the Department to initially notify Taxpayer that he did not file a tax 

return for income earned in New Mexico and that he owed taxes based on his earned income. In 

his December 30, 2009 letter to Taxpayer, Mr. Dillon explained that it takes the IRS 

approximately two years to share information with the state.  Mr. Dillon further explained that 

the IRS initially provides information as to personal income tax returns and in a different 

program separately provides information as to Schedule C business income for all New Mexico 

filers.  

New Mexico has a self-reporting tax system with the legislature placing the obligation on 

taxpayers to determine their tax liabilities and accurately report those liabilities to the state. 

NMSA 1978, §7-1-13 (2007).  The self-reporting system requires taxpayers to, after determining 

their tax liability, to voluntarily report and pay their tax liabilities to the state. “Every person is 

charged with the reasonable duty to ascertain the possible tax consequences of his action.” 

Tiffany Construction Co. v. Bureau of Revenue, 90 N.M.16, 17, 558 P.2d 1155, 1156 (Ct. App. 

1976), cert denied, 90 N.M. 255, 561 P.2d 1348 (1977).  Therefore the taxpayer is bound to 
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determine when his/her taxes are due, accurately report same to the Department and pay the 

taxes.  It is not an excuse that the Taxpayer was unaware that he/she owed taxes.  

 According to NMSA 1978, §7-2-12 (A) (2003):  
 

Every resident of this state and every individual deriving income 
from any business transaction, property or employment within this 
state and not exempt from tax under the Income Tax Act [7-2-1 
NMSA 1978] who is required by the laws of the United States to 
file a federal tax return shall file a complete tax return with the 
department in form and content as prescribed by the secretary. 
Except as provided in Subsection B of this section, the return 
required and the tax imposed on individuals under the Income Tax 
Act are due and payment is required on or before the fifteenth day 
of the fourth month following the end of the taxable year. 

 

The individual/entity with the knowledge as to income earned and what taxes are owed is 

the individual taxpayer.  Because the Taxpayer was a non-filer, the Department had no 

knowledge about the possibility that Taxpayer might owe taxes until it was notified by the IRS.  

It is the responsibility of each taxpayer to properly report income and pay taxes.  The fact that 

Taxpayer was a non-filer for income earned in New Mexico was the primary reason for delay in 

the Department knowing that any tax was owed and in particular gross receipts taxes.  Further, 

the initial information obtained from the IRS provided the state information only as to personal 

income tax but did not provide information as to specifically Schedule C reported income.  Mr. 

Dillon explained that due to the large number of taxpayers involved and the two separate 

programs from the IRS providing different information and noting the limited resources of the 

Department it is logical that it would take some time for the Department to determine the tax 
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liability of an individual Taxpayer.  

NMSA 1978, §7-1-18 A (1994) allows the Department up to three years “from the end of 

the calendar year in which payment of the tax was due” to issue an assessment.  In this matter, 

the taxes would have been due April 15, 2007 and the assessment was issued well within the 

legislatively mandated time period on December 9, 2009.   

Taxpayer’s additional claim of negligence by the Department is based on the 

Department’s employees not notifying him during the limited scope audit of his personal income 

tax that he would owe gross receipts tax on the income he earned in New Mexico.  According to 

Mr. Dillon’s letter to Taxpayer part of the problem stems from the fact that the IRS provides 

information through two separate programs the initial one being for personal income tax and the 

subsequent program providing information as to income reported on Schedule C of the federal 

return.  It would appear that the state employees may not have had full knowledge as to how the 

income was earned and therefore would have not been in a position to notify Taxpayer of the 

potential gross receipts tax liability.  

Mr. Dillon explained that,  it is regrettable that Taxpayer was not asked about potential 

Schedule C income when conducting the audit of personal income tax liability and regrettable 

that Taxpayer did not bring the matter to the Department employees’ attention.  Mr. Dillon 

speculated that perhaps because the initial audit was focused strictly on personal income tax 

liability that the gross receipts tax liability was overlooked.  While it would have been helpful to 

the Taxpayer for the Departments’ employees to have questioned him as to his potential gross 
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receipts liability, the evidence does not establish that the Department’s employees had 

knowledge at the time of the personal income tax limited scope audit that gross receipts would be 

due and owing.   

In addition, there is no provision within the regulations which allows for abatement of the 

negligence penalty because a Department employee failed to alert a Taxpayer of potential tax 

consequences that he or she may not have known about.  NMSA 1978, Sec 7-1-69 (A) governs 

the imposition of a civil penalty for “failure due to negligence or disregard of department rules and 

regulations” to pay a tax when due.  While this statute was modified in 2007 to increase the amount 

of penalty from 10% to 20%, effective January 1, 2008, the wording of this portion of the statute 

was not modified by the 2007 amendment. NMSA 1978 Sec. 7-1-69 provides that when a 

taxpayer fails to pay taxes due the state as a result of negligence or disregard of rules and 

regulations, a penalty “shall be added” to the amount of the underpayment.  The term 

“negligence” as used in §7-1-69 is defined in Regulation 3.1.11.10 NMAC (2001) as: 

(A) failure to exercise that degree of ordinary business care 
and prudence which reasonable taxpayers would 
exercise under like circumstances;  

(B) inaction by taxpayers where action is required;  
(C) inadvertence, indifference, thoughtlessness, 

carelessness, erroneous belief or inattention. 
 
Taxpayer testified that he was careless in not filing a New Mexico tax return, that he was 

unaware that gross receipts taxes would be due as such tax is unique to only a few states including 

New Mexico, and that he immediately paid the principal amount of the tax when notified and 

having verified that such was due. Taxpayer erroneously believed that he would not be liable for 
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any taxes owed to the state based on the gross receipts. This error meets the definition of negligence 

set out in Department regulations and in New Mexico case law. See C & D Trailer Sales v. 

Taxation and Revenue Dept., 93 N.M. 697, 699, 604 P.2d 835, 837 (Ct. App. 1979) (a taxpayer's 

mere belief that he is not liable to pay taxes is tantamount to negligence within the meaning of 

the statute); El Centro Villa Nursing Center v. Taxation & Revenue Department, 108 N.M. 795, 

P.797, 779 P.2d 982, 984 (Ct. App. 1989) (§ 7-1-69 is designed specifically to penalize 

unintentional failure to pay tax.). 

Additionally, Taxpayer acknowledged that he failed to file his gross receipts returns for 

2006.  By statute negligence includes inaction when action is required.  Whether or not 

employees should or could be held to a higher standard, an employee cannot be held to have 

knowledge of information that can only be obtained from either Taxpayer or the IRS when the 

Department does not have access to that information as Taxpayer has not provided that 

information nor has it been obtained from the IRS at the time of the audit.  Therefore the 

evidence does not establish that the Department was negligent based on its employees not 

notifying Taxpayer of a potential gross receipts tax liability at the time of the personal income 

tax limited scope audit.  

  Amount of Civil Penalty. Taxpayer’s protest includes the amount of penalty applied to 

the principal amount of tax.  In Taxpayer’s protest letter of December 21, 2009, he specifically 

notifies the Department that he is protesting the assessment of penalty and interest and he is 

requesting as affirmative relief that the penalty and interest be waived. NMSA 1978, S7-1-24 (A) 
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(2003) allows a taxpayer to dispute an assessment as to “any amount of tax, the application to the 

taxpayer of any provisions of the Tax Administration Act… by filing with the secretary a written 

protest against the assessment…” with the statute enumerating that the protest must identify the 

taxpayer, the grounds for the protest and the affirmative relief requested.  

The next determination to be made is the amount of penalty to be assessed. Taxpayer’s 

tax liability is based on taxes not paid in 2006 and January 2007.  In 2007, the legislature 

amended the penalty statute to increase the amount of penalty from 10% to 20%, effective as of 

January 1, 2008. It must be determined whether the penalty should be capped at 10% pursuant to 

the law in effect when the tax was due or 20% pursuant to the law in effect as of January 1, 2008.  

 NMSA 1978 Section 7-1-69 (2003, prior to amendments through 2007), in effect prior to 

January 1, 2008 states, 

  A.         Except as provided in Subsection C of this section, in the 
case of failure due to negligence or disregard of department rules 
and regulations, but without intent to evade or defeat a  tax, to pay 
when due the amount of tax required to be paid, to pay in 
accordance with the provisions of Section 7-1-13.1 NMSA 1978 
when required to do so or to file by the date required a return 
regardless of whether a tax is due, there shall be added to the 
amount assessed a penalty in an amount equal to the greater of: (1) 
two percent per month or any fraction of a month from the date the 
tax was due multiplied by the amount of tax due but not paid, not 
to exceed ten percent of the tax due but not paid.  

  
 NMSA 1978 Section 7-1-69 (2007) states, 

  A. Except as provided in Subsection C of this section, in the 
case of failure due to negligence or disregard of department rules 
and regulations, but without intent to evade or defeat a  tax, to pay 
when due the amount of t ax required to be paid, to pay in 
accordance with the provisions of Section 7-1-13.1 NMSA 1978 
when required to do so or to file by the date required a return 
regardless of whether a tax is due, there shall be added to the 
amount assessed a penalty in an amount equal to the greater of: (1) 
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two percent per month or any fraction of a month from the date the 
tax was due multiplied by the amount of tax due but not paid, not 
to exceed twenty percent of the tax due but not paid.  

  
The only modification in the statute from the 2003 version as compared to the 2007 version is 

simply the increase in penalty from 10% to 20%.  

When determining the meaning of a statute the primary concern “is to implement the intent 

of the legislature…In determining this intent, we look primarily to the language of the act and 

the meaning of the words, and when they are free from ambiguity, we will not resort to any other 

means of interpretation.” Security Escrow Corp. v. State Taxation & Revenue Dept. 107 N.M. 

540, 543, 760 P.2d 1306, 1309.  State of New Mexico ex rel Shell Western E & P. Inc. v. John J. 

Chavez, Secretary Taxation & Revenue, 2002-NMCA-5, 131 N.M. 445. 38 P/3d 886, ¶7. In 

determining legislative intent it is critical to consider the statute as a whole.  

 The recent Court of Appeals case of Wood v. State of New Mexico Educational Retirement 

Board, filed November 10, 2010, Docket No. 29,680 provides a thorough review of  the process of 

interpreting a statute with the court explaining that the goal is to give “primary effect to the intent of 

the legislature” by looking to the wording of the statute and attempt to apply “the plain meaning 

rule, recognizing that a statute contains language which is clear and unambiguous, we must give 

effect to that language and refrain from further statutory interpretation… Moreover, unless the 

Legislature expresses a contrary intent, we are to give statutory words ‘their ordinary meaning’ and 

this Court is prohibited from reading ‘into a statute…language which is not there…”¶ 12. Clearly, if 

the plain meaning of the statute requires a certain action an alternative opposite meaning cannot be 

applied.  

In considering the plain meaning of the statute and the statute as a whole to determine 

legislative intent, §7-1-69 has several different factors all of which are important including the 

percent of penalty due and owing at issue in this case and other cases that the Department has 

appealed. The Department’s position is that so long as a taxpayer has not paid his or her assessment 

as of January 1, 2008, the Department has the legal authority to recalculate the penalty and add an 
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additional 10% penalty. The entire statute must be considered in total in order to make this 

determination. Since all the factors for imposition of a penalty were present, the law requires that 

penalty be added to the amount assessed in principal.  

The determination as to the amount of penalty is based on an amount equal to the greater of  

two percent per month or any fraction of a month from the date the tax was due.  In determining 

what the legislature meant by “when the tax was due” consideration is given to other statutes in 

effect at the time. As discussed New Mexico’s self-reporting system places the obligation on 

taxpayer to determine his tax liabilities and accurately report those liabilities to the state. NMSA 

1978, §7-1-13 (2007).  Tiffany Construction Co. v. Bureau of Revenue, 90 N.M.16, 17, 558 P.2d 

1155, 1156 (Ct. App. 1976), cert denied, 90 N.M. 255, 561 P.2d 1348 (1977).  The due date for 

the filing of the return and payment of tax would have been on or before the 25th of the month 

following the month in which the taxable event occurs.  NMSA 1978, Section 7-9-11 (1969). 

Pursuant to the self-reporting system Taxpayer was obligated to report and pay tax on 

that date.  Having acknowledged in the hearing that he was unaware taxes were due and upon 

notification that such taxes were legally due, Taxpayer acknowledged his liability and paid the 

principal amount of the tax only questioning whether or not they owed the penalty and interest   

“Therefore any penalty due to negligence shall be equal to “two percent per month or any fraction 

of a month from the date the tax was due.”  

As the gross receipts taxes for 2006, they were due on multiple dates.  The statute in effect 

at that time was the 2003 version of the statute.  The assessment of penalty should be calculated as 

two percent per month or any fraction of a month commencing when the tax was due.  Once 

Taxpayer reached the maximum penalty cap for all reporting periods in January 2007, the “not to 

exceed” language of the statute prohibited any further imposition of penalty against the still 

unpaid principal tax due.  Because the penalty provision had already been exhausted by the time 

the new amendment became effective January 1, 2008, the Department could not apply an 

additional 10% penalty to the principal amount of tax.  The intent of the Legislature was that the 

new penalty provision apply prospectively and not retroactively. 
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In addition, the Taxpayer bill of rights specifically entitles Taxpayers to seek review of 

any adverse decisions relating to determinations made during the audit or protest procedures and 

further entitles Taxpayers to abatement of any assessment determined to have incorrectly, 

erroneously or illegally made (emphasis added).  In Sonic Industries Inc. v. State, 2000-NMCA-

087,129 N.M. 657, 11 P.3d 1219, the court explained that if a taxpayer ignores its tax obligations 

and consults with counsel only after an assessment is issued such cannot establish a diligent 

protest and “does not provide a bias for avoiding a penalty” citing Phillips Mercantile Co. v 

Taxation & Revenue, 109 N.M. 487, 491, 786 P.2d 1221, 1225 (Ct. App. 1990). Clearly, such 

action does not clear the Taxpayer of an obligation to pay penalty. However such penalty must 

be the correct amount of penalty pursuant to New Mexico law. A Taxpayer is not required to pay 

a miscalculated or incorrect amount of penalty. When the Department errs in its calculation of 

penalty the Taxpayer bill of rights requires the Department to only charge Taxpayer in 

accordance with the statute and not a cent more.  

The Department argued that 20% penalty should apply.  The Department’s calculation of 

the penalty is not correct.  The amount of negligence penalty added to the underlying principal 

tax liability by the Department is not in accordance with the meaning of §7-1-69 (2003, prior to 

amendments through 2007). §7-1-69 (A) (1) provides that if the tax required to be paid when due 

is not paid, the Department may add civil penalty in an amount “…not to exceed ten percent of 

the tax due but not paid.”  There was no retroactivity provision within this statute allowing for an 

additional civil penalty of ten percent (10%) to be applied to past due principal tax balances due 

as of January 1, 2008 that had already exceeded the maximum rate applied. This determination is 

based on Phelps Dodge Corp. v. Revenue Division of the Taxation and Revenue Dept of the State 

of New Mexico, 103 NM 20, 702 P.2d 10 (Ct. App. 1985), which following Worman v. Echo 

Ridge Homes Cooperative, Inc. 98 NM 237, 647 P.2d 870 (982) states, “new legislation must not 

alter the clear language of a prior statute if it is to be applied retroactively.” Additionally, in State 

v. Padilla, 78 NM 702, 437 P.2d 163 (Ct. App. 1968), affirmed in Psomas v. Psomas, 99 NM 

606, 661 P.2d 884 (1982), the court stated, “it is presumed that statutes will operate 
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prospectively only, unless an intention on the part of the legislature is clearly apparent to give 

them retroactive affect.” See also Karpa v. Commission of Internal Revenue, 909 F.2d 784 

(1990).  

Our Supreme Court addressed the issue of prospective versus retroactive application of this penalty 

statute in Kewanee Industries Inc. V. State Taxation & Revenue, 114 N.M. 784, 845 P.2d 1238 (1993).  The 

Department was attempting to apply certain regulations in assessing penalty. Our Supreme Court determined 

that as the regulations were not in effect during the tax years at issue determining that the regulations could 

not be applied to the taxpayer as it would be a retroactive application of the regulation. The court explained, 

“A regulation promulgated by an administrative agency shall be construed to have retroactive effect only if it 

is clearly and manifestly intended” The court cited Psomas as authority for prospective application only 

unless clear intent by the legislature to require retroactive application. Sec. 7-1-69 (2007) does not 

establish clear intent by the legislature to require retroactive application. Therefore penalty is 

capped at 10%. 

 Interest.  NMSA 1978, § 7-1-67 governs the imposition of interest on the late payments of 

tax and provides, in pertinent part:   

A.  If any tax imposed is not paid on or before the day on which it becomes 
due, interest shall be paid to the state on such amount from the first day 
following the day on which the tax becomes due, without regard to any 
extension of time or installment agreement, until it is paid... (emphasis 
added).  
B. Interest due to the state under Subsection A or D of this section shall be 
at the rate of fifteen percent a year, computed on a daily basis;…  

 
Subsection A determines the period for which interest is due and Subsection B directs that the 

interest be calculated at a rate of 15% per year, computed on a daily basis. The use of the word 

"shall" indicates that the provisions of the statute are mandatory rather than discretionary.  State 

v. Lujan, 90 N.M. 103, 105, 560 P.2d 167, 169 (1977).  With limited exceptions that do not apply 

here, the New Mexico Legislature has directed the Department to assess interest whenever taxes 

are not timely paid until such time as the principal tax is paid in full. The assessment of interest is 
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not designed to punish taxpayers, but to compensate the state for the time value of unpaid 

revenues.  Here, the Taxpayer failed to pay gross receipts tax due to the state.  In effect, the 

Taxpayer had a loan of state funds during the time taxes were owed but not paid. Therefore 

continuing interest is due until such time as the principal tax due is paid.  The statutory rate is 

mandatorily set by the legislature, and neither the Department nor its Hearing Officer has the 

authority to adjust interest based on the financial or personal situations of individual taxpayers. 

See, State ex rel. Taylor v. Johnson, 1998-NMSC-015 ¶ 022, 961 P.2d 768, 774-775 (the 

legislature, not the administrative agency, declares the policy and establishes primary standards 

to which the agency must conform). Taxpayer’s claim that he was not negligent does not assist 

him in abating interest as interest is not determined or forgiven based on non-negligence but 

rather of non-payment of taxes due. Therefore interest is due and owing by Taxpayer based on 

his non-payment of gross receipts tax.  

 CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

 A. Taxpayer filed a timely, written protest to the assessment of gross receipts tax issued 

under Letter ID No. L1771057216 with Taxpayer specifically protesting the assessment of penalty 

and interest and requesting abatement of both.  Jurisdiction lies over the parties and the subject 

matter of this protest. 

 B. Taxpayer was negligent in failing to report gross receipts taxes in tax year 2006 and 

properly owed the principal amount of the gross receipts tax.  

 C. Taxpayer paid the principal amount of the assessment in January 2010.   

 D. The Department was not negligent in issuing the assessment for non-payment of 

gross receipts taxes.   

 E. The Department correctly assessed interest, pursuant to NMSA 1978, §7-1-67. 
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Taxpayer owes the interest which accrued until the principal amount was paid in full.  

 F. The amount of civil penalty added to the principal tax shall not exceed ten percent as 

provided in NMSA 1978, §7-1-69(A)(1)(2003, prior to amendments through 2007) and any 

amounts added or assessed in excess of the ten percent shall be abated.  

 For the foregoing reasons, the Taxpayer's protest IS GRANTED IN PART AND DENIED 

IN PART:  the Department is ordered to abate ten percent of the penalty amount for tax year 2006.  

 DATED:  January 7, 2011.   

 
 

       


