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DECISION AND ORDER 

 
 An administrative hearing on the above-referenced protest was held on November 7, 

2007, before Margaret B. Alcock, Hearing Officer.  The Taxation and Revenue Department 

(“Department”) was represented by Jeffrey W. Loubet, Special Assistant Attorney General.  Justo 

and Jessie Cordova (“Taxpayers”) represented themselves.  Based on the evidence and arguments 

presented, IT IS DECIDED AND ORDERED AS FOLLOWS:   

FINDINGS OF FACT 

 1. The Taxpayers filed timely federal and New Mexico personal income tax returns 

for the 1999 tax year.   

 2. The Internal Revenue Service (“IRS”) subsequently disallowed some of the 

itemized deductions the Taxpayers claimed on their federal return, resulting in an additional 

income tax liability for the 1999 tax year.   

 3. The Taxpayers do not recall receiving a notice from the IRS concerning the 

adjustment to their federal return and did not amend their 1999 New Mexico personal income tax 

return to report the additional state tax liability resulting from the IRS adjustment.   

 4. New Mexico’s personal income tax form uses federal adjusted gross income as the 

starting point for reporting state tax and does not require disclosure of the itemized deductions 
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taken on the federal return.  For this reason, the Department had no way of detecting the error in the 

Taxpayers’ reporting of itemized deductions at the time they filed their state income tax return in 

April 2000.   

 5. It was not until 2003 that the Department received information from the IRS 

concerning its adjustment to the Taxpayers’ 1999 federal income tax return, which increased the 

amount of state income tax due for that year.   

 6. On August 29, 2003, the Department assessed the Taxpayers for $709.00 of 

additional 1999 income tax, plus $357.84 of interest and $70.90 of penalty.   

 7. On September 4, 2003, the Taxpayers filed a written protest to the assessment of 

interest and penalty.   

DISCUSSION 

 The Taxpayers question their liability for the interest and penalty that accrued on their 

underpayment of 1999 personal income tax between April 2000, the original due date of the tax, 

and August 2003, the date the Department issued its assessment.  The Taxpayers maintain that it 

was the Department’s responsibility to notify them of their additional tax liability and that 

interest and penalty should not begin to accrue until the date they received actual notice of the 

error in their calculation of 1999 personal income tax.   

 Burden of Proof.  NMSA 1978, § 7-1-17(C) provides that any assessment of tax by the 

Department is presumed to be correct.  NMSA 1978, § 7-1-3 defines tax to include not only the 

amount of tax principal imposed but also, unless the context otherwise requires, “the amount of 

any interest or civil penalty relating thereto."  See also, El Centro Villa Nursing Center v. 

Taxation and Revenue Department, 108 N.M. 795, 779 P.2d 982 (Ct. App. 1989).  Accordingly, 
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the assessment issued to the Taxpayers is presumed to be correct, and it is the Taxpayers’ burden 

to present evidence and legal argument to show that they are entitled to an abatement.   

 Assessment of Interest.  When a taxpayer fails to make timely payment of taxes due to the 

state, NMSA 1978, § 7-1-67 imposes interest “from the first day following the day on which the tax 

becomes due...until it is paid.”  The language of the statute makes it clear that interest begins to run 

from the original due date of the tax, not the date the Department notifies the taxpayer of the 

underpayment.  In this case, the Taxpayers underreported their 1999 income tax liability by $709. 

Although the error was unintentional, the fact remains that the Taxpayers have had the use of 

money legally due to the state.  For this reason, interest was properly assessed for the period 

beginning on April 16, 2000, the first day following the due date for payment of their 1999 

income taxes.   

 Assessment of Penalty.  When a taxpayer fails to pay taxes due to the state as a result of 

negligence or disregard of rules and regulations, NMSA 1978, § 7-1-69(A) imposes a penalty of 

two percent per month “from the date the tax was due,” not to exceed ten percent of the 

outstanding tax liability.  As with interest, the amount of penalty is calculated from the date the 

tax was due, not the date the taxpayer is notified of the underpayment.   

 The term “negligence” is defined in Regulation 3.1.11.10 NMAC to include “inadvertence, 

indifference, thoughtlessness, carelessness, erroneous belief or inattention.”  In this case, the 

Taxpayers do not know why their itemized deductions were disallowed and have not pursued the 

matter with the IRS.  There is no evidence that they ever discussed the deductions claimed with 

their tax preparer, who Mr. Cordova acknowledged was inexperienced.  Instead, it appears that the 

Taxpayers simply assumed that the returns had been prepared correctly.  This meets the definition 
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of negligence set out in Department regulations and New Mexico case law.  See, El Centro Villa 

Nursing Center v. Taxation and Revenue Department, 108 N.M. 795, 799, 779 P.2d 982, 986 (Ct. 

App. 1989) (a taxpayer cannot abdicate responsibility for payment of taxes merely by appointing 

an accountant as its agent in tax matters).   

 Timing of Assessment.  The Taxpayers question why the Department took so long to 

notify them of their 1999 personal income tax liability.  Mr. Cordova testified that he would have 

paid the additional tax if he had been alerted sooner and believes that the Department is 

responsible for the interest that accrued between April 2000 and August 2003 (penalty stopped 

accruing when it reached its maximum of 10 percent in August 2000).  This argument is based on 

a misunderstanding of New Mexico’s self-reporting tax system.  It is the obligation of taxpayers—

not the Department—to accurately determine their tax liabilities and report those liabilities to the 

state in a timely manner.  See, NMSA 1978, § 7-1-13(B); Tiffany Construction Co. v. Bureau of 

Revenue, 90 N.M. 16, 17, 558 P.2d 1155, 1156 (Ct. App. 1976), cert. denied, 90 N.M. 255, 561 

P.2d 1348 (1977).   

 No government has sufficient resources to audit every taxpayer to determine whether he or 

she has fully complied with the tax laws.  Although the Department performs periodic “tape 

matches” that compare information reported to the IRS with information reported to New 

Mexico, there is some delay before the federal tape match information is made available to the 

state.  In this case, the Department did not receive information concerning the adjustment to the 

Taxpayers’ 1999 federal income tax return until 2003.  The Department’s assessment was issued 

a few months later and was well within the statutory time frame set out in NMSA 1978, § 7-1-18, 

which gives the Department three years from the end of the calendar year in which a tax is due to 
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issue an assessment.  Nothing in § 7-1-18 or § 7-1-67 provides for the abatement of interest when 

the Department issues its assessment at the end, rather than at the beginning, of the three-year 

limitations period.  In either case, § 7-1-67 requires interest to be paid from the first day 

following the day on which the tax was due until the tax is paid.   

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

 A. The Taxpayers filed a timely protest to the Department’s assessment of interest and 

penalty, and jurisdiction lies over the parties and the subject matter of this protest. 

 B. The Department’s assessment was issued within the three-year limitations period 

provided in NMSA 1978, § 7-1-18.   

 C. Pursuant to NMSA 1978, § 7-1-67, the Taxpayers are liable for interest on their 

underpayment of 1999 personal income tax from April 16, 2000 until the date the tax is paid.  

 D. Pursuant to NMSA 1978, § 7-1-69, the Taxpayers are liable for the penalty that 

accrued on their underpayment of 1999 personal income tax from April 16, 2000 until the date the 

penalty reached its maximum of ten percent.   

 For the foregoing reasons, the Taxpayers’ protest IS DENIED.   

 DATED November 9, 2007.   


