
State of New Mexico
Taxation and Revenue Department

LIQUOR EXCISE TAX RETURN
Check if amended

WHO MUST FILE: Wholesalers who sell alcoholic beverages must file Form RPD-41129, Liquor Excise Tax Return, and 
pay liquor excise tax on alcoholic beverages sold. The liquor excise tax and return are due on or before the 25th day of the 
month following the close of the calendar month in which the alcoholic beverage was sold. 

Beginning (mm/dd/ccyy)                   Ending (mm/dd/ccyy)Check if you are a direct wine shipment permittee

A
Total gallons/

liters sold

B
Deductions/

exemptions per 
gallon/liter

C
Taxable gallons/

liters sold

D
Tax rate 
per unit

E
Tax

1. Beer per gallon 0.41
2. Microbeer per gallon

2a. First 30,000 barrels sold 0.08
2b. Sales: 30,001 to 59,999 barrels 0.28
2c. Sales: 60,000 or more barrels 0.41

3. Cider per gallon 0.41
4. Cider per gallon  Cider manufactured/produced by a small winegrower and sold in New Mexico. 

4a. First 30,000 barrels sold 0.08
4b. Sales: 30,001 to 59,999 barrels 0.28
4c. Sales: 60,000  or more barrels 0.41

5. Spirituous liquor per liter 1.60
6. Spirituous liquor per liter  Spirituous liquor manufactured/produced by a craft distiller.

6a. First 250,000 liters sold (10% ABV or lower) 0.08
6b. Next 250,000 liters (10% ABV or lower) 0.28
6c. First 175,000 liters sold (over 10% ABV) 0.32
6d. Next 200,000 liters (over 10% ABV) 0.65

7. Wine per liter 0.45
8. Fortified wine per liter 1.50
9. Small winery or winegrower

9a. First 80,000 liters sold 0.10
9b. Sales: 80,001 to 950,000 liters 0.20
9c. Sales: 950,001 to 1,500,000 liters 0.30

10. Total tax due
11. Penalty
12. Interest
13. Total Due

Mail to: Taxation and Revenue Department, P.O. Box 25123, Santa Fe, NM 87504-5123

Authorized signature ___________________________________________________  Date ____________________________________________

I declare I have examined this form and to the best of my knowledge and belief it is true, correct, and complete.

Phone number ___________________________________  Email address _________________________________________________________

WHOLESALER: FEIN:

STREET/BOX: CRS:

CITY, STATE, ZIP LIQUOR LICENSE NUMBER:

Required attachments:
Unless you are a direct wine shipment permittee, who does not have a New Mexico 
winegrower's license, you must complete and attach Form RPD-41294, Alcoholic 
Beverage Inventory and Deduction Report. Please attach proof of any product 
spoiled, broken, or damaged and returned.

REPORT PERIOD:
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NEW LEGISLATION
Effective July 1, 2019, new legislation amending the definition 
of "microbrewer" and "Cider" in the Liquor Excise Tax Act. 
Amending the definition of "Spirituous Liquors", "winegrow-
ers" in the Liquor Control Act, and imposes new tax rates on 
volume increases. 

Effective July 1, 2019, the liquor excise tax rate on the in-
creased volume limit for liquors manufactured or produced 
by and sold in New Mexico: 

Microbrewers
•	 $0.08 per gallon of microbeer for sales of the first 30,000 

barrels (930,000 gallons)
•	 $0.28 per gallon of microbeer for sales from 30,001 to 

59,999 barrels (930,031 to 1,859,969 gallons)
•	 $0.41 per gallon of microbeer for sales from 60,000 or 

more barrels (1,860,000 or more)

Cider- manufactured or produced by a small winegrower 
and sold in New Mexico, provided proof is furnished to the 
Department
•	 $0.08 per gallon of cider for sales of the first 30,000 barrels 

(930,000 gallons)
•	 $0.28 per gallon of cider for sales from 30,001 to 59,999 

barrels (930,031 to 1,859,969 gallons)
•	 $0.41 per gallon of cider for sales from 60,000 or more 

barrels (1,860,000 gallons or more)

Spirituous Liquors except as outlined under 7-17-5 NMSA 1978
•	 $1.60 per liter of spirituous liquor sales

Spirituous Liquors* for products up to 10 percent alcohol by 
volume
•	 $0.08 per liter of spirituous liquor sales of the first 250,000 

liters sold
•	 $0.28 per liter of spirituous liquor sales of the next 250,000 

liters sold

Spirituous Liquors* for products over 10 percent alcohol by 
volume
•	 $0.32 per liter of spirituous liquor sales of the first 175,000 

liters sold
•	 $0.65 per liter of spirituous liquor sales of the next 200,000 

liters sold

*Spirituous liquors manufactured or produced by a  craft 
distiller licensed pursuant to Section 60-6A-6.1 NMSA 
1978.

The conversion factor from barrels to gallons 
is one barrel of liquor = 31 U.S. gallons

WHO MUST FILE 
Wholesalers who sell alcoholic beverages must file Form RPD-
41129, Liquor Excise Tax Return, and pay liquor excise tax 
on alcoholic beverages sold. The liquor excise tax and return 
are due on or before the 25th day of the month following the 
close of the calendar month when alcoholic beverages were 
sold. When filing and paying liquor excise tax, the wholesaler 
must also complete and attach Schedule A, Alcoholic Beverage 
Inventory and Deduction Report, except if the wholesaler is 
a direct wine shipment permittee who is not a licensed New 
Mexico winegrower.

A transfer of wine from a winegrower to a wholesaler for dis-
tribution of the wine transfers the liability for payment of the 
liquor excise tax to the wholesaler upon the sale of the wine 
by the wholesaler.

NOTE: Retailers located in McKinley County must file Form 
RPD-41277, Local Liquor Excise Tax Return, and pay the 
local liquor excise tax.

LIQUOR EXCISE TAX RETURN 
Complete the wholesaler name and address block. Enter your 
company's federal employer identification number (FEIN), 
New Mexico Combined Reporting System (CRS) identifica-
tion number, and the liquor license number. Enter the report 
period (calendar month) beginning with the first day of the 
month and ending on the last day of the month the alcoholic 
beverage was sold. 

If you are amending a previously filed return, at the top of the 
form check the "amended" box. If you obtained a direct wine 
shipment permit from the New Mexico Alcohol and Gaming 
Division and you are not licensed as a New Mexico winegrower, 
check the "direct wine shipment permittee" box. 

Use the following column and line instructions to complete 
the Liquor License Tax Return. 

COMPLETING THE COLUMNS 
Column A. Total gallons/liters sold. For each type of alco-
holic beverage, enter the number of units (gallons or liters) 
sold during the report period and reported on Schedule A, 
Alcoholic Beverage Inventory and Deduction Report.

Column B. Deductions/exemptions per gallon/liter. For 
each type of alcoholic beverage, enter the number of units 
(gallons or liters) sold during the report period that qualifies for 
a deduction or exemption. Allowable deductions and exemp-
tions are described on the next page of these instructions.

Column C. Taxable gallons/liters sold. For each line item, 
subtract Column B from A and enter here. 

Column D. Tax rate per unit. This column is completed for you.
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Column E. Tax. Compute the tax by multiplying Column C 
by Column D.

LINE INSTRUCTIONS
Line 1.	 Beer. Report beer in gallons. Complete each column 
as described. 

Line 2.	 Microbeer. Report microbeer in gallons. Microbeer 
is beer produced by a microbrewer. Effective July 1, 2019, a 
"microbrewer" means a person who produces less than two 
hundred thousand barrels of beer per year.

Line 2a. First 30,000 barrels sold. For the first 30,000 bar-
rels of microbeer sold, complete each column as described.

Line 2b. Sales: 30,001 to 59,999 barrels. For sales over 
30,000 barrels but less than 60,000 barrels, complete each 
column as described.

Line 2c. Sales: 60,000 or more barrels. For sales over 60,000 
barrels, complete each column as described.

Line 3.	 Cider. Report cider in gallons. Effective July 1, 2019, 
cider means an alcoholic beverage made from the normal 
alcoholic fermentation of the juice of sound, ripe apples or 
pears that contains not less than one-half of one percent 
of alcohol by volume and not more than eight and one-half 
percent of alcohol by volume.

Line 4.	 Cider. Report cider in gallons. Cider manufactured 
or produced by a small winegrower and sold in New Mexico

Line 4a. First 30,000 barrels sold. For the first 30,000 barrels 
of cider sold, complete each column as described.

Line 4b. Sales: 30,001 to 59,999 barrels. For sales over 
30,000 barrels but less than 60,000 barrels, complete each 
column as described.

Line 4c. Sales: 60,000 or more barrels. For sales over 60,000 
barrels complete each column as described.

Line 5. 	Spirituous liquor. Report spirituous liquor in liters. 
Complete each column as described.

Line 6. 	Spirituous liquor. (Manufactured or produced by a  
craft distiller licensed pursuant to Section 60-6A-6.1 NMSA) 
Report spirituous liquor in liters. Complete each column as 
described.

Line 6a. First 250,000 liters sold. For the first 250,000 liters 
of spirituous liquor products up to 10 percent alcohol by volume 
sold, complete each column as described.

Line 6b. Next 250,000 liters sold. For the next 250,000 liters 
of spirituous liquor products up to 10 percent alcohol by volume 
sold, complete each column as described.

Line 6c. First 175,000 liters sold. For the first 175,000 liters 
of spirituous liquor products over 10 percent alcohol by volume 
sold, complete each column as described

Line 6d. Next 200,000 liters sold. For the next 200,000 liters 
of spirituous liquor products over 10 percent alcohol by volume 
sold, complete each column as described

Line 7. 	Wine. Report wine in liters. Complete each column 
as described. 

Line 8. 	Fortified wine. Report fortified wine in liters. Complete 
each column as described. 

Line 9. Small winery or winegrower. A small winery or wine-
grower is any person who produces less than 1,500,000 liters 
of wine in a calendar year. For calendar years before Janu-
ary 1, 2014, a small winery or winegrower is any person who 
produces less than 950,000 liters of wine in a calendar year.

Line 9a. First 80,000 liters sold. For the first 80,000 liters 
of wine sold by a small winery or winegrower, complete each                
column as described.

Line 9b. Sales: 80,001 to 950,000 liters. For sales over 
80,000 liters to 950,000 liters by a small winery or winegrower, 
complete each column as described.

Line 9c. Sales: 950,001 to 1,500,000 liters. For sales from 
950,001 liters to 1,499,999 liters by a small winery or wine-
grower, complete each column as described.

Line 10. Total tax due. Enter the sum of Column E, lines 1 
through 7c.

Line 11. Penalty. Add penalty if the entity fails to file timely or 
to pay when due the amount on line 8. Calculate the penalty 
by multiplying the amount on line 8 by 2% (0.20), then by the 
number of months or partial months for which the return or 
payment is late, not to exceed 20% of the tax due. The penalty 
may not be less than $5.00. 

Line 12.	 Interest. Interest accrues daily on the unpaid prin-
cipal of tax due, and it can change on a quarterly basis. You 
can find the effective annual and daily interest rates on the 
Department's web page at www.tax.newmexico.gov or by 
contacting the Department.

Line 13.	 Total due. Enter the total of lines 8, 9, and 10. Pay 
this amount.
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Make the check or money order payable to New Mexico 
Taxation and Revenue Department. Mail the payment and all 
required documentation to Taxation and Revenue Department, 
P. O. Box 25123, Santa Fe, NM 87504-5123.

ALLOWABLE DEDUCTIONS, EXEMPTIONS, CREDITS, 
AND EXCLUSIONS
The following list describes the deductions, exemptions, credits, 
and exclusions you can take on the Liquor Excise Tax Return:
•	 The gallons or liters included in Column A sold to or by 

instrumentalities of the Armed Forces of the United States 
engaged in resale activities are exempt from the liquor 
excise tax. 

•	 The gallons or liters included in Column A sold and shipped 
to a person in another state are deductible from the liquor 
excise tax.

•	 A winegrower may deduct the liters of wine transferred to a 
winegrower from another winegrower for processing, bot-
tling, or storage and subsequent return to the transferrer 
from the units of wine subject to the liquor excise tax on 
the licensed premises of the winegrower. The volume of 
wine transferred from the initial winegrower to the second 
winegrower remains a tax liability of the initial winegrower 
unless the second winegrower uses or resells the wine 
transferred. If this is the case, the second winegrower as- 
sumes the liability for the liquor excise tax due.

•	 The gallons or liters included in Column A on which the 
liquor excise tax was previously paid are not subject to the 
liquor excise tax. For example, wholesaler X sells alcoholic 
beverages to wholesaler Y for resale. X pays the liquor 
excise tax on the sale to Y. When Y sells the alcoholic 
beverages to Z, Y excludes the gallons or liters in Column 
B on the Liquor Excise Tax Return.

•	 The gallons or liters included in Column A destroyed in ship-
ment, spoiled, or otherwise damaged as to be unfit for sale 
or consumption are credited against from the liquor excise 
tax. Attach proof that the product was spoiled, broken, or 
damaged and returned. 

If alcoholic beverages for which the liquor excise tax was 
paid in a prior period were destroyed in shipment, spoiled, or 
otherwise damaged as to be unfit for sale or consumption, 
you must file Form RPD-41071, Application for Refund. Proof 
that the liquor excise tax was paid on the product, and proof 
of destruction, spoilage, or damage are required. Obtain Form 
RPD-41071 by contacting the Department at (505) 827-0763, 
by visiting a local district office, or by visiting the Department 
web site at www.tax.newmexico.gov.

SCHEDULE A
Complete Schedule A following the completion information 
and instructions given next, and attach it to Form RPD-41129, 
Liquor Excise Tax Return. 

HOW TO COMPLETE SCHEDULE A 
Enter the name of the reporting wholesaler, the wholesaler's 
FEIN, and the 11-digit CRS identification number. Enter the 
report period (calendar month) beginning with the first day of 
the month and ending on the last day of the month. Use the 
following instructions to complete the report, then sign and date it.

INSTRUCTIONS
For each type of alcoholic beverage listed, complete the col-
umns as described in the following sections. You must enter 
the numbers in terms of gallons or liters according to the unit 
of measure indicated for each type of alcoholic beverage.

INVENTORY 
Complete the inventory information on lines 1 through 9. Make 
sure the beginning inventory during a month reconciles with 
the ending inventory of the prior month report. 

Transfers in and transfers out refer to:
•	 Inventory moved between locations or between businesses 

in non-sale transactions, and
•	 Wine transferred to a winegrower from another winegrower 

for processing, bottling, or storage and subsequent return 
to the transferrer.

Example 1. Wholesaler A transfers inventory from its ware-
house to the warehouse of wholesaler B in a non-sale transac-
tion. By agreement, the inventory is turned over to wholesaler 
B for resale, and wholesaler B assumes the responsibility to 
pay the liquor excise tax. Wholesaler A reports the non-sale 
"transfer out" of  inventory, and wholesaler B reports the non-
sale "transfer in" to inventory. 

Example 2. In the transfer in and transfer out (rows 3 and 8), 
winegrower A, who is also a wholesaler, may report the liters 
of wine transferred to the winegrower from another wine-
grower (winegrower B) for processing, bottling, or storage 
and subsequent return to winegrower B. When winegrower A 
receives the wine, a "transfer in" is recorded. When the wine is 
returned to the initial winegrower (winegrower B), winegrower 
A records a "transfer out." 

DEDUCTIONS/EXEMPTIONS/CREDITS
Certain sales of alcoholic beverages subject to the liquor 
excise tax are deductible or exempt, or a credit or exclusion 
is allowed. On lines 10 through 14, report the gallons or liters 
included in sales (line 5) that qualify for a deduction, exemption, 
or a credit. Subtract the allowable deductions, exemptions, 
and credits from total sales in Column B on Form RPD-41129, 
Liquor Excise Tax Return. 
 
Line 10. For each type of alcoholic beverage, enter the gal-
lons or liters sold during the report period to or by an instru-
mentality of the Armed Forces of the United States engaged 
in resale activities.
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STATE OF NEW MEXICO - TAXATION AND REVENUE DEPARTMENT

  LIQUOR EXCISE TAX RETURN INSTRUCTIONS

Line 11.	For each type of alcoholic beverage, enter the gallons 
or liters sold and shipped to a person in another state.
 
Line 12. For each type of alcoholic beverage, enter the gallons 
or liters for which the liquor excise tax was previously paid.
 
Line 13. For each type of alcoholic beverage, enter the gallons 
or liters included in line 5 that were destroyed in shipment, 
spoiled, or otherwise damaged and made unfit for sale or 
consumption. NOTE: If the liquor excise tax was paid in a 
prior period on the destroyed, spoiled, or damaged product, 
you may claim a refund of the tax paid by submitting Form 
RPD-41071, Application for Refund, and attaching proof that 
the product was spoiled, broken, or damaged and returned.
  
Line 14. Enter the sum of lines 10 through 13. The amounts 
in this row must reconcile with the amounts in RPD-41129,  
Column B. 

Sign and Date. Sign and date the Liquor Excise Tax Return 
and, if required to attach Schedule A, sign and date the Alco-
holic Beverage Inventory and Deduction Report.\

NOTE: When you provide a check as payment, you autho-
rize us to use information from your check to make a one-
time electronic fund transfer from your account.  When we 
use information from your check to make an electronic fund 
transfer, funds may be withdrawn from your account as soon 
as the same day you make your payment.

IMPORTANT DEFINITIONS FROM THE LIQUOR EXCISE 
TAX ACT (Sections 7-17-1 through 7-17-12 NMSA 1978)

"Alcoholic beverages" means distilled or rectified spirits, po-
table alcohol, brandy, whiskey, rum, gin, aromatic bitters or any 
similar beverage, including blended or fermented beverages, 
dilutions or mixtures of one or more of the foregoing containing 
more than one-half of 1% alcohol by volume, but "alcoholic 
beverages" does not include medicinal bitters.

“Beer” means an alcoholic beverage obtained by the fermen-
tation of any infusion or decoction of barley, malt and hops or 
other cereals in water and includes porter, beer, ale and stout.

“Cider” means an alcoholic beverage made from the normal 
alcoholic fermentation of the juice of sound, ripe apples or 
pears that contains not less than one-half of 1% of alcohol by 
volume and not more than 8.5% of alcohol by volume.

“Fortified wine” means wine containing more than 14% alcohol 
by volume when bottled or packaged by the manufacturer, 
but "fortified wine" does not include:  	
1) wine that is sealed or capped by cork closure and aged 
two years or more; 
2)  wine that contains more than 14% alcohol by volume solely 
as a result of the natural fermentation process and that has 
not been produced with the addition of wine spirits, brandy 
or alcohol; or 
3) vermouth and sherry.

"Microbrewer" means [effective July 1, 2019]: a person who 
produces less than two hundred thousand barrels of beer 
per year.

"Person" includes, to the extent permitted by law, a federal, 
state or other governmental unit or subdivision or an agency, 
department, institution or instrumentality thereof.

“Small winegrower” means [effective January 1, 2014] a 
person who produces less  than 1,500,000 liters of wine in 
a calendar year.

“Spirituous liquors” means alcoholic beverages, except fer-
mented beverages such as wine, beer, cider and ale.

"Wholesaler" means a person holding a license issued under 
Section 60-6A-1 NMSA 1978 or a person selling alcoholic 
beverages that were not purchased from a person holding a 
license issued under Section 60-6A-11 NMSA 1978.

“Wine” means an alcoholic beverage other than cider that is 
obtained by the fermentation of the natural sugar contained in 
fruit or other agricultural products, with or without the addition 
of sugar or other products, and that does not contain more 
than 21% alcohol by volume.

"Winegrower" means a person licensed pursuant to Section 
60-6A-11 NMSA 1978.
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