
 

STATE OF NEW MEXICO - MOTOR VEHICLE DIVISION 

REVIEW OF 10-YEAR REVOCATION
INTERLOCK COMPLIANCE 

PLEASE PRINT OR TYPE INFORMATION – If name has changed since any of the actions below were taken, give former name first, then current name. 

Last Name, First Name, Middle Initial: Interlock Vendor: 

Address: Address: 

City, State, Zip Code:  

Date of Birth: Social Security Number: City, State, Zip Code: 

Driver’s License Number: Telephone Number: Telephone Number: 

REQUIRED DOCUMENTS 

• Letter from interlock vendor stating that the Petitioner has had no violations during the previous six months 
• Documentation of ignition interlock device installation 

BACKGROUND INFORMATION 

Prior to June 17, 2005 a driver convicted of DWI for the third time was subject to a mandatory 10-year license 
revocation. For third DWI offenses since June 17, 2005 the mandatory revocation period is three years. In 2007, the 
New Mexico Legislature amended Section 66-5-29 NMSA 1978, effective June 15, 2007, to allow an individual 
subject to the 10-year revocation to petition the Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) to have the current, three-year 
mandatory revocation periods apply instead. 

This provision applies exclusively to individuals with three and no more than three DWI convictions. 
As amended, Sec. 66-5-29, provides that the MVD shall apply the current, three-year license revocation provision to 
a person who has been convicted three times of DWI and whose driver’s license was revoked for 10 years under the 
law in effect prior to June 17, 2005, at the request of the person, if the person has had an ignition interlock license for 
three years or more and has proof from the ignition interlock vendor of no violations of the ignition interlock device in 
the previous six months. 

APPLICATION FOR REVIEW OF 10-YEAR LICENSE REVOCATION 
The undersigned Petitioner, having satisfied the conditions of Section 66-5-29, as amended effective June 15, 2007, 
and having provided all required documentation, hereby requests that the Motor Vehicle Division of the New Mexico 
Taxation and Revenue Department apply the license revocation provisions of Section 66-5-29(C) and Section 66-5-
5(D) NMSA 1978 and, seeing that the three-year revocation period has expired, issue a regular New Mexico driver’s 
license, free of any ignition interlock restriction. 

   

Signature of Petitioner  Date 

Mail Request to: 

MOTOR VEHICLE DIVISION 
ATTN: DWI COMPLIANCE UNIT 

P.O. BOX 1028 
SANTA FE, N.M. 87504-1028 
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