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PIT-1 after you fill out a sample fed-
eral return. Much of the information 
requested on the PIT-1 is the same.

2.	 Find out what other forms and 
schedules you are required to file. 
This depends on your residency 
status and your personal situation. 

For a description of the various forms 
you may need, see Required Forms 
and Attachments in the full PIT-1 in-
structions on page 8. If you are claim-
ing credits, see Attachments Required 
to Claim Credits on page 9.

IMPORTANT: Submit only the original, 
official PIT-1 and schedules. 

FILLING IN YOUR RETURN
Follow these guidelines to complete 
your PIT-1:
•	 Complete all required information. 

Do not leave any required fields 
blank.

•	 Leave blank all spaces and boxes 
that do not apply to you.

•	 Type or print using blue or black ink. 
Do not use a pencil.

•	 Round all numbers and enter only 
whole dollar amounts. For example, 
enter $10.49 as $10 and $10.50 as 
$11.

•	 Write numbers clearly and legibly.

•	 To show a loss, place a minus sign 
(-) immediately to the left of the 
loss amount. Do not use brackets 
or parentheses.

For details, see Important Guidelines 
on PIT-1 instructions, page 19.

TOP OF PAGE 1
Complete the top of page 1 of the 
PIT‑1. If you are filing for a fiscal year, 
enter the month, day, and year your 
tax year began and the month, day, 
and year it ended. 
 
LINES 1 AND 2
Name and Social Security Number 
Clearly enter your name and social se-
curity number (SSN) and if applicable, 
the name and SSN of your spouse 
in exactly the same order as on your 

GENERAL INFORMATION
This Quick Reference for your New 
Mexico Personal Income Tax (PIT‑1) 
Return is a summary to help you 
complete your PIT-1 faster. It is not 
intended to replace the full instruction 
set. 

Depending on your tax situation and 
your understanding of the New Mexico 
tax laws, you may want to read the full 
instructions for some items. What to 
Know and Do Before You Begin gives 
a good overview and begins on page 
17 of the full instructions. Detailed line 
instructions begin on page 19.

Who Must File the PIT-1 Return
New Mexico’s law says every person 
with  income from New Mexico sources 
required to file a federal income tax 
return must file a New Mexico PIT-1. 

This includes non-residents with in-
come from every New Mexico source, 
including wages, rents, royalties, busi-
nesses, and estates. Even foreign na-
tionals and people who reside in states 
that do not have income taxes must 
file in New Mexico when they have 
income from any New Mexico source 
whatsoever and are required to file a 
federal return. 

IMPORTANT: The tax year on your 
PIT-1 must match the tax year of your 
federal return. Do not file short year 
returns unless allowed by the Internal 
Revenue Code. 

If you are a resident of New Mexico, 
you also must file a New Mexico return 
if any of the following are true:
•	 You want to claim a refund of any 

New Mexico state income tax with-
held from your pay. 

•	 You want to claim any New Mexico 
rebates or credits.

GETTING STARTED
Follow these steps before you start 
filling out your PIT-1:
1.	 Prepare your federal return. Even if 

you are not required to file a federal 
return, it is easier to complete the 

federal return. Even if you are married 
filing separately, your spouse’s SSN 
is required. 

No Social Security Number?
If you or your spouse do not have an 
SSN, you may be eligible for a federal 
Individual Taxpayer Identification Num-
ber (ITIN) from the IRS. For details 
about the ITIN and its requirements, 
see PIT-1 instructions, page 17.

Make sure all names and SSNs or ITINs 
are legible, complete, and correct. 

Blind and 65 Years of Age or Older
If you or your spouse (if applicable) are 
blind for federal income tax purposes 
or age 65 years or older, mark X in 
the boxes. 

NOTE: The Taxation and Revenue De-
partment may request proof at a later 
date that you or your spouse, if appli-
cable, are blind for federal purposes. 
Do not attach the proof to your return.

Residency Status and Date of Birth
Enter R, N, F, or P to indicate your 
residency status and, if applicable, 
your spouse’s residency status. Use R 
for resident, N for non-resident, F for 
first-year resident, and P for part-year 
resident. For more information, see 
PIT-1 instructions, pages 19.

Enter date of birth in MM/DD/CCYY 
format. For example, if birth date was 
on July 20, 1952, enter 07/20/1952. 

LINE 3
Address
Mark box 3a if your address on the 
PIT‑1 has changed since your last fil-
ing. In 3b, clearly enter your address.
Make sure your address is legible, com-
plete, and correct. 

If you have a foreign address, enter 
the street address, city name and 
postal code in the appropriate line. Also 
complete the spaces for the foreign 
province and/or state and country. Fol-
low the country’s practice for entering 
the foreign postal code, the province or 
state, and country. Do not abbreviate 
the country name.

QUICK REFERENCE LINE INSTRUCTIONS FOR 2019 PIT-1 
New Mexico Personal Income Tax (PIT) Return
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tional lines for more than five qualifying 
dependents.  

To enter the dependent’s date of 
birth, use MM/DD/CCYY format. For 
example, if your daughter was born 
April 16, 2012, enter 04/16/2012. For 
details about dependents, see PIT-1 
instructions, page 21.

LINE 9
Federal Adjusted Gross Income
Enter the federal adjusted gross in-
come as reported on your federal Form 
1040 or 1040SR, line 8b.

LINE 10. Itemized State and Local 
Tax Deduction
If you itemized deductions on your 
2019 federal income tax return, on your 
PIT-1 Return you must add back all or 
part of the amount shown for Taxes 
You Paid (state and local) on federal 
Schedule A, line 5a. 

To determine the amount to enter on 
line 10, go to page 22 of the PIT-1 in-
structions and complete the Worksheet 
for Computing the Amount on Line 10 
of the PIT-1 Return. 

LINE 11
Total Additions to Federal Adjusted 
Gross Income
If you completed Schedule PIT‑ADJ, 
lines 1 to 5, enter the Total Additions 
from PIT‑ADJ, line 5. 

You are required to complete and at-
tach Schedule PIT‑ADJ if any of the 
following are true: 
•	 You received interest and dividends 

from federally tax-exempt bonds. 
•	 You have a federal net operating 

loss carryover.
• 	 You had contributions refunded 

LINE 4
Deceased Taxpayer or Spouse and 
Any Claimant
If the refund must be made payable 
to a person other than the taxpayer or 
spouse, on line 4a enter the claimant’s 
name and on line 4b enter the claim-
ant’s SSN. 

If the taxpayer or the spouse named 
on the return died before you file this 
return, on lines 4c and 4d, enter the 
date of death in MM/DD/CCYY format. 
For example, if the date of death was 
on June 13, 2019, enter 06/13/2019. 
 
For more information, see Representa-
tives of Deceased Taxpayers on PIT-1 
instructions, page 5.

LINE 5
Exemptions
Deduction amounts for personal ex-
emptions are suspended for tax years 
2018 through 2025 by the Federal Tax 
Cuts and Jobs Act.  

New Mexico uses the same definitions 
and qualifications pursuant to Section 
151 of the Internal Revenue Code to 
determine exemption amounts and 
whether someone is your dependent 
or other dependent.

Eligibility remains important for de-
termining who may claim credits and 
other tax benefits on PIT-1 and other 
required forms and attachments. The 
total in this line item will include you, 
your spouse if filing a joint return, your 
qualifying dependents, and your quali-
fying other dependents. 

See Form 1040 or 1040SR Instructions 
for definitions for 2019.

IMPORTANT: If you were or your 
spouse qualifies as an other depen-
dent of another individual for federal 
income tax purposes, whether or not 
you or your spouse were claimed as an 
other dependent on the other person’s 
federal return, exclude that spouse 
from the total in line 5.

To determine the amount to enter on 
line 5, complete the below Worksheet 
for Computing the Amount on Line 5 
of the PIT-1 Return. 

LINE 6
Extension of Time to File
If you have a federal or New Mexico 
extension of time to file, mark X in box 
6a and enter the date the extension 
expires in 6b. 

If the federal extension was automat-
ic, or if you received approval for a 
New Mexico extension, do not  attach 
a copy of the extension request to your 
PIT-1. It is not necessary in this case.
 
LINE 7
Filing Status
Show your filing status by marking X 
in the correct box. Use the same filing 
status on your state return that you 
used on your federal return. If you did 
not file a federal return, use the filing 
status you would have used for federal 
income tax purposes.  

Requirements for Items 3 and 4
If you mark X in item 3, Married filing 
separately, your spouse’s name and 
SSN are required on lines 2a and 2b. 

If you mark X in item 4, Head of House-
hold, on the line below item 4, enter the 
name of the person who qualifies you 
as head of household if that person is 
a child and not eligible to be included 
as a qualified dependent under federal 
regulations. 

LINE 8
Dependents and Other Dependents
Enter the name, SSN, and date of birth 
of each dependent you reported on 
your federal return. If you have more 
than five qualifying dependents and 
other dependents, use Schedule PIT-S 
to enter your additional dependents.

IMPORTANT: Only file Schedule PIT-S  
if you filled in the five dependent lines 
on PIT-1, line 8, and you need addi-

Worksheet for Computing the Amount on Line 5 of the PIT-1 Return

3.  Enter total number of dependents and other dependents  
     as reported on your federal return.

1. Yourself. Enter “1”

2. Spouse. Enter “1” if applicable.

4. Total. Add lines 1, 2, and 3. Enter here and on line 5.
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when closing a New Mexico-
approved Section 529 college sav-
ings plan account.

•	 You had certain contributions rolled 
out of a New Mexico-approved 
Section 529 college savings plan 
account.

•	 You claimed a charitable deduction 
on federal Schedule A, for a dona-
tion of land to private non-profit or 
public conservation agencies for 
conservation purposes from which 
you were allowed the New Mexico 
land conservation tax credit.

For information about calculating 
the additions, see the 2019 PIT-ADJ  
instructions for lines 1 to 5.

LINE 12
Federal Standard or Itemized  
Deduction Amount
If you did not itemize deductions on 
your 2019 federal return, enter the 
allowable federal standard deduction 
from federal Form 1040 or 1040SR, 
line 9.

If you itemized deductions on your 
2019 federal Form 1040 or 1040SR, 
do the following: 
•	 Enter the allowable federal itemized 

deductions you reported on Form 
1040 or 1040SR, line 9. 

•	 Mark box 12a.

Charitable Deduction of Land
If you claim a charitable deduction in 
your federal itemized deductions on 
federal Schedule A, for a donation 
of land to private non-profit or public 
conservation agencies for conserva-
tion purposes from which you were 
approved for the New Mexico land 
conservation tax credit, you must add 
back the charitable deduction amount 
included in your itemized deductions 
on your federal Schedule A. To do this, 
add the charitable deduction amount to 
Schedule PIT-ADJ, line 4.

LINE 13
Deduction for Certain Dependents
Beginning tax year 2019, as long as 
the exemption amount pursuant to 
Section 151 of the Internal Revenue 
Code is zero (0), a taxpayer who is not 
a dependent of another individual and 
files a return as a head of household 

or married filing jointly may claim a de-
duction from net income in an amount 
of $4000 for certain dependents.    

To calculate the deduction for PIT-1, 
line 13, use Worksheet for Calculating 
Deduction for Certain Dependents on 
page 23 of PIT-1 instructions.

LINE 14
New Mexico Low- and Middle-
Income Tax Exemption
A New Mexico income tax exemption 
is allowed for low- and middle-income 
taxpayers. All taxpayers, including 
residents, part-year residents, first-
year residents, and non-residents may 
claim this exemption in full. 

The maximum is $2,500 for each 
qualified household member reported 
on federal Form 1040 or 1040SR, and 
PIT-1, line 5 for income tax purposes. 
The amount varies according to filing 
status and adjusted gross income.

To claim the exemption, the amount on 
PIT-1, line 9 must be equal to or less 
than any of the following:

•	 $36,667 (if single) 

•	 $27,500 (if married filing separately) 

•	 $55,000 (if married filing jointly, 
qualified widow(er), or head of 
household)

To calculate the exemption, use New 
Mexico Low- and Middle-Income Tax 
Exemption Worksheet on PIT-1 in-
structions, page 24.

LINE 15
Total Deductions and Exemptions  
from Federal Income
If you completed Schedule PIT-ADJ, 
lines 6 to 22, on PIT-1, line 15, enter 
the Total Deductions and Exemp-
tions from PIT-ADJ, line 22.

You are may complete and attach 
Schedule PIT-ADJ if any of the follow-
ing are true: 
• 	 You have interest and dividend 

income on New Mexico state and 
local bonds.

• 	 You have a New Mexico net operat-
ing loss carryover.

• 	 You have interest income from U.S. 
Government obligations.

• 	 You have Railroad Retirement in-
come not taxable by New Mexico.

• 	 You, your spouse, or both are 
members of an Indian nation, tribe, 
or pueblo and your income was 
wholly earned on the lands of the 
reservation or pueblo of which the 
individual is an enrolled member 
while domiciled on that land, res-
ervation, tribe, or pueblo.

• 	 You, your spouse, or both are age 
100 or over and you are not depen-
dents of another taxpayer. 

• 	 You, your spouse, or both are 
age 65 or over or blind, and your 
adjusted gross income is not over 
$51,000 for a joint return; $28,500 
for a single taxpayer; or $25,500 for 
married taxpayers filing separately.

• 	 You have a New Mexico Medical 
Care Savings Account.

• 	 You contribute to a New Mexico-
approved Section 529 college sav-
ings plan.

• 	 You have net capital gains for which 
you can claim a deduction of up to 
$1,000 or 40% of your net capital 
gains, whichever is greater.

•	 You have armed forces wages or 
salary from active duty service. This 
includes active duty pay earned in 
New Mexico by non-resident U.S. 
Public Health Service (USPHS) 
members.

•	 You, your spouse, or both are age 
65 or over, and you have unreim-
bursed or uncompensated medical 
care expenses of $28,000 or more 
for yourself, your spouse, or depen-
dents.

•	 You, your spouse, or dependents 
have expenses related to donat-
ing human organs for transfer to 
another person.

•	 You received a reimbursement from 
the New Mexico National Guard 
Service Member’s Life Insurance 
Reimbursement Fund.

•	 You were required to include, in 
your federal adjusted gross income, 
taxable refunds, credits, or offsets 
of state and local income tax (fed-
eral Schedule1,line 1). 
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For information about calculating total 
deductions and exemptions, see the 
2019 PIT-ADJ instructions for lines 6 
to 21. 

LINE 16
Medical Care Expense Deduction
If you file a New Mexico PIT-1, you 
may claim a deduction for medical care 
expenses paid during the tax year for 
medical care for you, your spouse, or 
a dependent. Eligible filers include 
out-of-state residents with income tax 
responsibility to New Mexico. 

To determine the deduction amount to 
enter on PIT-1, line 16, use Worksheet 
for Calculating Medical Care Expense 
Deduction and the instructions begin-
ning on page 25. 

IMPORTANT: You must complete 
both lines 16 and 16a. If either are 
incomplete, the Department denies 
your deduction.

LINE 16a
Unreimbursed and Uncompen-
sated Medical Care Expenses
Enter the qualifying unreimbursed 
and uncompensated medical care 
expenses you used to calculate your 
medical care expense deduction on 
PIT-1, line 16. 

To determine qualifying expenses, see 
the line 16 instructions on page 25 of 
the PIT-1 instructions.
LINE 17
New Mexico Taxable Income
Add lines 9, 10, and 11, then subtract 
lines 12, 14, 15, and 16. If the result is 
negative,  enter zero. This is your New 
Mexico taxable income.

Non-Residents Using Gross Royalty 
Income
If you are a non-resident and you 
elect to calculate tax on gross royalty 
income under $5,000 using special 
procedures, enter your gross royalty 
income from New Mexico sources. Also 
see Non-Residents and Royalty Income 
on PIT-1 instructions, page 5.  

LINE 18
New Mexico Tax
Unless you qualify for Schedule CC, 
calculate your New Mexico tax by 

using one of these methods and then 
complete line 18a:
•	 If you have income from sources  

inside and outside New Mexico,       
use your entry on PIT-B, line 14 or;

•	 Use the rate tables from the full PIT-1 
instructions, starting on page 1T.   

IMPORTANT: When calculating your 
tax using the rate tables, make sure 
to use the taxable income amount on 
line 17.

Alternative Tax Schedule CC
If you qualify to file Schedule CC,  
Alternative Tax Schedule, enter on 
line 18 only the amount from Schedule 
CC, line 3. 

You qualify to file Schedule CC if you 
meet all the following requirements:
•	 You have no business activities in 

New Mexico other than sales.
•	 You do not own or rent real estate 

in New Mexico.
You have annual gross sales in or into 
New Mexico of $100,000 or less. 

Line 18a
Rate Table Indicator
In the box on line 18a, enter R or B to 
show the source for calculating your 
tax: 
•	 R = rate tables
•	 B = Schedule PIT-B

NOTE: If you are a non-resident 
and elect to compute tax on gross  
royalty income less than $5,000, enter 
Y for gross royalty income. See Non- 
Residents Using Gross Royalty Income 
earlier on this page.

LINE 19
Additional Amount for Tax on Lump-
Sum Distributions
If you received a lump-sum payment 
and you are using the special federal 
10‑year tax option on federal Form 
4972, you are eligible to use New 
Mexico’s averaging method. To calcu-
late your New Mexico averaged tax, 
use Worksheet for Calculating Tax 
on Lump-Sum Distributions on PIT-1 
instructions, page 26. 

If you did not use the federal averag-
ing methods available on federal Form 

4972, you are not eligible to use the 
New Mexico averaging method.

IMPORTANT: If you used Schedule 
PIT-B to calculate your New Mexico 
tax liability on line 18 and also used 
the federal special tax option and New 
Mexico averaging methods to calculate 
tax on a lump-sum distribution on line 
19, DO NOT add line 19 when com-
pleting PIT-1, line 22 as stated on the 
form. The New Mexico portion of line 
19 (lump-sum distribution) is included 
in Schedule PIT-B, line 14.  

To calculate your Net New Mexico 
Income Tax, follow the special steps 
given for line 22. 

LINE 20
Credit for Taxes Paid to Another 
State
A resident of New Mexico who must 
pay personal income tax to another 
state on income that is also taxable in 
New Mexico may take a credit against 
New Mexico tax for tax paid to the 
other state. To determine if you qualify, 
see PIT-1 instructions, page 28.

LINE 21
Business-Related Income Tax Credits 
Applied
If you are eligible to claim one or more 
of the following non-refundable credits, 
or if you are claiming any refundable 
business-related tax credits that may 
be applied to your income tax due, 
enter the amount from PIT-CR, line A, 
and attach the completed PIT-CR to 
your PIT-1: 
•	  Affordable Housing Tax Credit,
•	 Angel Investment Credit,
•	 Advanced Energy Tax Credit, 
•	 Agricultural Biomass Income Tax 

Credit, 
•	 Business Facility Rehabilitation 

Credit,  
•	 Electronic Card-Reading Equip-

ment Tax Credit,
•	 Foster Youth Employement Tax 

Credit
•	 Geothermal Ground-Coupled Heat 

Pump Tax Credit, 
•	 Job Mentorship Tax Credit, 
•	 Land Conservation Incentives 

Credit, 
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•	 Preservation of Cultural Property 
Credit, 

•	 Rural Job Tax Credit, 
•	 Rural Health Care Practitioners 

Tax Credit,
•	 Solar Market Development Tax 

Credit,
•	 Sustainable Building Tax Credit
•	 New Sustainable Building Tax 

Credit, 
•	 Technology Jobs and Research 

and Development (Additional) Tax 
Credit, 

•	 Veterans Employment Tax Credit   
•	 Film Production Tax Credit,
•	 New Film Production Tax Credit,
•	 New Mexico Film Partners New 

Film Production Tax Credit, and
•	 Renewable Energy Production 

Tax Credit.
For information about these credits, 
see the instructions for PIT-CR.

LINE 22
Net New Mexico Income Tax
To find your net New Mexico income 
tax in all cases, except the situation 
described next, do the following:
1.	 Add lines 18 and 19.
2.	 Add lines 20 and 21.
3.	 From the result of step 1, subtract 

the result of step 2. This amount 
cannot be less than zero.

Calculation When Using PIT-B and 
Claiming Additional Amount of Tax 
on Lum-Sum Distributions
Although line 22 says to add line 19, 
do not add line 19 if both of the follow-
ing are true:
•	 For line 18, you used Schedule 

PIT‑B to calculate your New Mexico 
tax liability. 

•	 You used the New Mexico averag-
ing method to calculate tax on a 
lump-sum distribution for line 19. 

If both are true, calculate your Net New 
Mexico Income Tax for line 22 by fol-
lowing these steps:
1.	 Add lines 20 and 21.
2.	 From the amount on line 18, sub-

tract the result of step 1. 

In this case, you do not add PIT-1, line 
19 when completing PIT-1, line 22. The 
New Mexico part of line 19 (lump-sum 
distribution) is already included in 
Schedule PIT-B, line 14. 

LINE 24
Total Claimed on Rebate and Credit 
Schedule
If you claim any of the following special 
New Mexico rebates or refundable 
credits, complete and attach Schedule 
PIT-RC to your PIT-1:
• 	 Low income comprehensive tax 

rebate
• 	 Property tax rebate (for low-income 

persons 65 or older)
• 	 Additional low income property tax 

rebate for Los Alamos or Santa Fe  
County residents

• 	 Child day care credit
•	 Refundable medical care credit for 

persons 65 years of age or older

•	 Special needs adopted child tax 
credit

LINES 25 and 25a
Working Families Tax Credit
If you were a New Mexico resident 
during any part of 2019 and you file a 
PIT-1, you may claim the working fami-
lies tax credit. The credit is 17% of the 
earned income credit (EIC) for which 
you are eligible the same tax year. 

The EIC is a refundable federal income 
tax credit for low income working 
individuals and families. The credit 
reduces the amount of federal tax 
you may owe and may increase your 
refund from the IRS. 

If you qualify for the working families 
tax credit, and the credit exceeds your 
income tax liability for the tax year of 
the claim, you may receive a refund.

On line 25a, enter the amount of EIC 
you reported on your 2019 federal 
Form 1040 or 1040SR, Line 18a. 

To find the entry for line 25, multiply 
the amount on line 25a by 0.17 (17%).

IMPORTANT: You must complete 
both lines 25 and 25a. If either are 
incomplete, the Department denies 
your deduction.

For More Information
To see all the requirements for claiming 
the EIC, read the rules in the federal 
1040 or 1040SR tax package or see 
IRS Publication 596, Earned Income 
Credit (EIC). You may also read about 
the EIC on the IRS website at www.
irs.gov and download the publication 
from the site.

LINE 26
Refundable Business-Related  
Income tax credits
From PIT-CR, line B, enter the total 
amount of your refundable part of the 
following tax credits. 
•	 Film Production Tax Credit,  
•	 Renewable Energy Production Tax 

Credit, and
•	 Technology Jobs and Research 

and Development (Additional) Tax 
Credit. 

Line 26 line shows the refundable 
amount of business-related income tax 
credits you claimed on PIT-CR. 

LINE 27
New Mexico Income Tax Withheld
Enter the total of all your New Mexico 
income tax withheld, other than income 
from oil and gas proceeds or PTE 
income, as shown on your annual with-
holding statements, including Form(s) 
W-2, W-2G, 1099, 1099-R, and 1099-
MISC. Attach a copy of the forms to 
your PIT-1. 

Payments You Cannot Include
Do not include income tax withheld 
from your share of the net income of 
a pass-through entity or from oil and 
gas proceeds.

Do not include any payment you made 
for gross receipts tax, withholding 
tax, compensating tax, or any other 
type of tax due to the State of New 
Mexico. These payments are not pay-
ments towards your personal income 
tax liability. They are not considered 
“tax withheld,” “estimated,” or “other” 
payments on your PIT-1.

LINE 28
New Mexico Income Tax Withheld 
From Oil and Gas Proceeds
Enter the total of all New Mexico income 
tax withheld from oil and gas proceeds 
as shown on your annual withholding 
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statements, 1099-MISC, and RPD-
41285, Annual Statement of Withhold-
ing of Oil and Gas Proceeds. Attach a 
copy of the forms to your PIT-1. 

LINE 29
New Mexico Income Tax Withheld 
From a Pass-Through Entity
Enter the total New Mexico income 
tax withheld from the net income of 
pass-through entities as shown on 
your annual withholding statements, 
1099-MISC, and Form RPD-41359, 
Annual Statement of Pass-Through 
Entity Withholding. Attach a copy 
of the forms to your PIT-1. An en-
tity that has had tax withheld can-
not pass a withholding statement 
directly to its owners, members,  
partners, or beneficiaries. The entity 
must first file and report the tax with-
held on its New Mexico income tax or 
annual information return. After filing 
and reporting the tax withheld, the 
entity may then pass the tax withheld 
to another entity by issuing the owner, 
member, partner, or beneficiary an an-
nual withholding statement.

LINE 30
2019 Estimated Income Tax Payments
Enter the total of New Mexico estimat-
ed tax payments you made for 2019 
as shown in your records. Include all 
of the following: 
•	 Estimated payments you made with  

PIT-ES payment vouchers; 
•	 Your last installment, even if you 

pay it in 2020; and
•	 Overpayments from your 2018 re-

turn that you applied to your 2019 
taxes.

Do Not Include These Payments
Do not include any of the following 
payments:
•	 Extension payments you made with 

PIT-EXT payment vouchers 
•	 Any return payments you made with 

PIT-PV payment vouchers 
PIT-PV or PIT-EXT payments you 
made through the Department website

NOTE: Report extension and return 
payments on line 31. 

DIFFERENT NAME OR SSN
If you made any estimated payments 
using a different name or SSN, attach 
a schedule to your return showing how 
you made each estimated payment.  

LINE 31
Other Payments
Enter the total payments you made to-
ward your 2019 personal income tax 
liability that are not included on line 
30, including:
•	 Extension payments you made with 

PIT-EXT payment vouchers 
•	 Return payments you made with 

PIT-PV payment vouchers
•	 PIT-PV or PIT-EXT payments you 

made through the Department 
website. 

LINE 32
Total Payments and Credits
Add lines 24 through 31, and enter the 
total here. 

LINE 33
Tax Due/Amount You Owe
If line 23 is greater than line 32, the dif-
ference is the amount of tax you owe. 
Subtract line 32 from line 23, enter the 
difference here.

LINE 34
Penalty on Underpayment of Esti-
mated Tax
This line is only for taxpayers who owe 
an underpayment penalty. Leave the 
line blank in these situations: 
•	 You do not owe an underpayment 

penalty.
•	 You owe an underpayment penalty 

and you want the Department to 
calculate the penalty for you.

If you want to calculate the penalty, 
enter the amount of penalty on the un-
derpayment of estimated tax you owe. 

For details about calculating pen-
alty, see the instructions for PIT-ES,  
Personal Income Estimated Tax Pay-
ment Voucher.

Department Process for Penalty Due
The Department sends you a bill or if 
you are due a refund, reduces your re-
fund by the amount of the penalty due.

LINE 35
Special  Method Allowed for  
Calculation of Underpayment of 
Estimated Tax Penalty
You can use a special method if both 
the following are true:
•	 You owe penalty for underpayment 

of estimated personal income tax.
•	 You qualify for a special penalty 

calculation method, which reduces 
the amount of penalty due using 
the standard method of calculating 
the penalty.

                                                                                                                  
Indicate the Special Method
If both are true, enter 1, 2, 3, 4, or 5 
in the box on line 35 to indicate the 
method you elect to calculate your un-
derpayment penalty. To use the special 
penalty calculation, the Department 
requires you to complete and attach  
Form RPD-41272, 2019 Calculation 
of Estimated Personal Income Tax 
Underpayment Penalty, to your PIT-1.

When To Leave the Box Blank
Leave the box blank in these situa-
tions:
•	 You do not quality for one of the 

special methods. 
•	 You do not owe estimated tax using 

the standard method of calculating 
the underpayment of estimated tax 
penalty.  

LINE 36
Penalty
If you file late and owe tax, or if you do 
not pay the tax on or before the date 
your return is due, enter penalty here. 
Calculate penalty by multiplying the 
unpaid amount due on line 33 by 0.02 
(2%). Then multiply this product by the 
number of months or partial months for 
which your return or payment is late. 
The result cannot exceed 20% of the 
tax due. If you want the Department 
to calculate the penalty for you, leave 
the line blank. 

LINE 37
Interest
If you do not pay the income tax due on 
or before the original due date of your 
return, even if you receive an extension 
of time to file, add interest. If you want 
the Department to calculate interest for 
you, leave the line blank. 
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Formula to Calculate Daily Interest
Tax due x daily interest rate for the 
quarter x number of days late = interest 
due

Interest Changes Quarterly
The annual and daily interest rate for 
each quarter is posted on our website 
at http://www.tax.newmexico.gov/
Individuals/penalty-interest-rates.
aspx. For more information about 
interest, see PIT-1 instructions, page 
31. 

LINES 39 through 42
Overpayment/Refund
If line 23 is less than line 32, you have 
an overpayment. Subtract line 23 from 
line 32, and enter the difference on 
line 39.

If you have penalty or interest due from 
lines 34, 36, or 37, reduce your over-
payment by the sum of the amounts in 
those lines. If you owe penalty or inter-
est the Department will reduce your 
overpayment by penalty and interest 
amounts. 

You can handle your overpayment in 
any or a combination of the following 
ways:
•	 You can use it for voluntary fund 

contributions. To do this, enter 
the amount on line 40 and attach 
Schedule D to your PIT-1. For in-
formation, see Schedule D, New 
Mexico Voluntary Contributions 
Schedule.

• 	 You can apply it to your 2020 es-
timated tax. To do this, enter the 
amount on line 41.

•	 You can have the Department re-
fund your overpayment to you. To 
do this, enter the amount on line 42.

WHAT TO DO BEFORE YOU MAIL 
YOUR RETURN
Before you mail your return, follow 
these steps:
1.	 Check the figures on your return 

and on your attachments.
2.	 On your PIT-1 at the bottom of 

page 2, sign and date. If you are 
married and filing a joint return, 
both spouses must sign. 

3.	 Below the signature, the taxpayer 
and, if married filing joint, the 

spouse, is required to enter their 
state issued driver’s license or state 
issued identification card number 
and a two digit state code identifying 
the state issuing the identification 
number. Also enter the expiration 
date of driver’s license or state is-
sued identification number. These  
identification numbers will be used 
as an additional level of verifica-
tion to help protect your personal 
information from identity theft and 
fraudulent returns. If you do not 
have this identity, write “NONE” 
in this field. If the taxpayer and, if 
married filing joint, the spouse, do 
not wish to provide a state issued 
driver’s license or state issued iden-
tification card, write “DECLINED” in 
the spaces provided.

4.	  
5.	 Below your signature, enter your 

phone number and email address. 
6.	 If you paid someone to prepare 

your return, make sure your paid 
preparer signs your return in the 
Paid preparer’s use only sec-
tion. The preparer may sign by 
hand or any method of electronic 
signature acceptable to the IRS. 
The preparer must also fill in 
the other blanks in this section.  
 

For more information, see PIT-1 in-
structions, beginning on page 33.

7.	 If you are mailing a payment with 
your return, do the following:
•	 Complete the PIT-PV payment 

voucher. 
•	 Write your social security num-

ber and the tax year on your 
check.

•	 Cut the voucher on the dotted 
line.

•	 Mail the payment voucher with 
your payment.

IMPORTANT: Only submit a payment 
voucher if you submit a payment.   

Submit ONLY High-Quality Printed, 
Original Vouchers
Payment vouchers are processed 
through high-speed scanners. Cut the 
bottom portion of the voucher ONLY on 
the dotted line. 

Where to Mail a Return WITHOUT 
a Payment
If you are not mailing a payment with 
your return, mail your refund return or 
other return to:  
NM Taxation and Revenue Dept.
P O Box 25122
Santa Fe, NM  87504-5122

Where to Mail a Return WITH a  
Payment 
If you are mailing a payment with your 
return, mail your return, payment and 
voucher to:

NM Taxation and Revenue Dept.
P O Box 8390
Santa Fe, NM  87504-8390

Filing and Paying Online
You can file your return online at 
https://tap.state.nm.us where you can 
also pay by electronic check (E-Check) 
at no charge.

You may use a credit card for an online 
payment. A convenience fee is applied 
to reimburse the state for fees the 
credit card companies charge the State 
of New Mexico. The fee is calculated 
on the amount of the transaction.

Filing Checklist
Complete the Filing Checklist on PIT-1 
instructions, page 35. 

Assemble Your Return
Put your PIT-1 and all attachments in 
the order shown on PIT-1 instructions, 
page 34. If your return shows tax due, 
add a payment voucher along with 
your check. 

IMPORTANT: Do not use staples or 
tape to assemble your return. Submit 
only original, official state forms.

FINAL STEPS
If you are not electronically filing your 
return, follow these steps:
1.	 Mail your return and attachments to 

the address on PIT-1, page 2, or as 
noted in this section.  

2.	 Keep a copy of your original return 
and all attachments.                                                                            


