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INSTRUCTIONS FOR 2016 PIT-ADJ 
SCHEDULE OF ADDITIONS, DEDUCTIONS, AND EXEMPTIONS 

GENERAL INFORMATION
If either of the following apply to you, 
complete PIT-ADJ:
•	 You are required to make certain 

additions to your federal adjusted 
gross income.

•	 You are eligible to take certain de-
ductions and exemptions from your 
federal adjusted gross income. 

The PIT-ADJ is required for you to 
claim certain additions, deductions, or 
exemptions. This schedule shows your 
total additions (line 5) and your total 
deductions and exemptions (line 22). 

Enter these totals on your PIT-1 Return 
to calculate your New Mexico taxable 
income. After completing PIT-ADJ, at-
tach it to your PIT-1 Return.

If the additions, deductions, or exemp-
tions on this schedule do not apply to 
you, DO NOT complete this schedule 
and do not attach it to the PIT-1 return.

IMPORTANT: Do not add any amounts 
to Schedule PIT-ADJ that are not listed 
on this schedule. If an item is not 
listed, it is not a valid New Mexico ad-
dition, exemption, or deduction for this 
schedule. Do not submit a statement 
instead of this schedule. The Taxa-
tion and Revenue Department does 
not accept statements instead of the 
Schedule PIT-ADJ.

Additions to Federal Adjusted 
Gross Income (Lines 1–4)
You are required to report the follow-
ing additions to your federal adjusted 
gross income on Schedule PIT-ADJ: 

•	 Line 1. Interest and dividends from 
federal tax-exempt bonds.

•	 Line 2. A net operating loss  
carryover.

•	 Line 3. Contributions refunded 
when closing, or certain contribu-
tions rolled out of, a New Mexico-
approved Section 529 college 
savings plan account. 

•	 Line 4. A charitable deduction 
claimed on federal Form 1040, 
Schedule A, for a donation of 

land to private non-profit or public 
conservation agencies for conser-
vation purposes from which you 
were allowed the New Mexico land 
conservation tax credit.

Each addition is described in detail 
later in these instructions.

Deductions and Exemptions from 
Federal Adjusted Gross Income 
(Lines 6–21)
Use PIT-ADJ to claim the following 
deductions and exemptions: 

•	 Line 6. New Mexico tax-exempt 
interest and dividend income.

•	 Line 7. A New Mexico net operating 
loss carryforward.

•	 Line 8. Interest on U.S. government 
obligations.

•	 Line 9. Railroad retirement income 
or Railroad Unemployment Insur-
ance Act sick pay not taxable by 
New Mexico.

•	 Line 10. You, your spouse, or both 
are members of an Indian nation, 
tribe, or pueblo, and the income 
of the member was wholly earned 
on the lands of the reservation or 
pueblo of which one of you is a 
member while domiciled on that 
land, reservation, or pueblo.  If ei-
ther you or your spouse are not a 
member of an Indian nation, tribe, 
or pueblo, your income is taxable 
even when earned on the lands of 
the reservation or pueblo.

•	 Line 10a and 10b.  Please enter 
the name of the Indian nation, tribe 
or pueblo of which you or your 
spouse is a member.

•	 Line 11. You, your spouse, or both 
are age 100 or over, and not depen-
dents of another taxpayer. 

•	 Line 12. You, your spouse, or both 
are age 65 or over or blind, and 
adjusted gross income is not over 
$51,000 for a joint return; $28,500 
for a single taxpayer; or $25,500 for 
married taxpayers filing separately.

•	 Line 13. Federally taxable contri-
butions to or distributions from a 
New Mexico Medical Care Savings 
Account.

•	 Line 14. Contributions to a New 

Mexico-approved Section 529 col-
lege savings plan.

•	 Line 15. Net capital gains deduc-
tion.

•	 Line 16. Armed forces active duty 
pay.

•	 Line 17. You, your spouse, or both 
are age 65 or over, and claiming 
unreimbursed or uncompensated 
medical care expenses of $28,000 
or more for yourself, your spouse, 
or dependents.

•	 Line 18. Expenses related to do-
nating human organs to another 
person.

•	 Line 19. Reimbursement from 
the New Mexico National Guard 
Service Member’s Life Insurance 
Reimbursement Fund.

•	 Line 20. Taxable refunds, credits, 
or offsets of state and local income 
taxes included from your federal 
adjusted gross income (Form 1040, 
line 10).

•	 Line 21. Active duty pay of a  
non-resident U.S. Public Health 
Service (USPHS) member. 

Each deduction and exemption is 
described in detail later in these in-
structions. 

PREPARING YOUR SCHEDULE 
PIT-ADJ
Complete your PIT-1 and then follow 
these steps to prepare and complete 
Schedule PIT-ADJ.

1. In the PIT-1 instructions, page 21, 
read Important Guidelines. This sec-
tion gives helpful guidelines for com-
pleting schedules and forms. 

2. Make sure you have all necessary 
records, approvals, and certifications 
for the PIT-ADJ.

3. On the 2016 Schedule PIT-ADJ, 
enter the primary taxpayer’s name 
and social security number from lines 
1a and 1b of your PIT-1 return. Make 
sure the name and number are correct 
and readable. 

4. Using the detailed instructions for 
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Charitable deduction amount 
claimed on federal Form 1040, 
Schedule A, for a donation of land 
to private non-profit or public 
conservation agencies for conser-
vation purposes from which you 
were allowed the New Mexico Land 
Conservation Tax Credit
If both of the following are true, you 
must add back the charitable deduc-
tion amount included in the itemized 
deductions claimed on your federal 
Form 1040, Schedule A: 
•	 You donated land to private non-

profit or public conservation agen-
cies for conservation purposes from 
which you claimed a New Mexico 
land conservation incentives tax 
credit.

•	 You claimed a charitable deduction 
for the same contribution in the 
federal itemized deductions on your 
federal personal income tax return. 

If both are true, enter the charitable 
deduction amount claimed on federal 
Form 1040, Schedule A, from which 
you were allowed the New Mexico land 
conservation tax credit. However, this 
amount cannot be below the standard 
deduction amount you would have 
qualified for had you not itemized your 
deductions on the federal return.

Use the worksheet on the next page to 
compute the amount of the charitable 
deduction claimed on Form 1040, 
Schedule A to be added back to New 
Mexico taxable income.
  
DEDUCTIONS AND EXEMPTIONS 
FROM FEDERAL ADJUSTED   
GROSS INCOME

LINE 6  
New Mexico tax-exempt interest and 
dividends

Enter the total interest or dividend in-
come you received from the following 
investments: 
•	 State and local bonds exempt 

from New Mexico taxable income, 
including the State of New Mexico 
or its agencies, institutions, instru-
mentalities, or political subdivi-
sions;   

•	 Obligations of the Commonwealth 
of Puerto Rico, Guam, Virgin Is-

each line on the next pages, complete 
the 2016 Schedule PIT-ADJ.  

5. Double-check the figures on your 
2016 Schedule PIT-ADJ. Be sure your 
arithmetic is correct and make sure all 
entries are complete and correct. 

6. If line 11 is applicable, make sure 
you correctly marked the boxes.  

7. Transfer the total on line 5 of this 
schedule to PIT-1, line 11.

8. Transfer the total on line 22 of this 
schedule to PIT-1, line 15.

9. Attach your completed PIT-ADJ, 
along with any other required attach-
ments to your PIT-1 return. For other 
possible attachments, look for Attach 
headings in the instructions for lines 6, 
7, 9,11, 17, and 19.

DETAILED INSTRUCTIONS 
FOR EACH LINE

ADDITIONS TO FEDERAL ADJUSTED 
GROSS INCOME

LINE 1
Interest and dividend income from 
federal tax-exempt bonds

Enter your interest and dividend income 
from all state and municipal bonds 
excluded from your federal adjusted 
gross income. This includes all feder-
ally tax-exempt interest and dividends 
reported on federal Forms 1040 or 
1040A from state and municipal ob-
ligations.
 
NOTE: Use line 6 of PIT-ADJ to claim 
the deduction for interest and divi-
dends of obligations exempt from New 
Mexico taxable income.

LINE 2
Federal net operating loss carryover

A positive number is required on this 
line. From federal Form 1040, line 21 
(Other income), enter the amount of 
any federal net operating loss carryfor-
ward or carryback. 

By making this entry, you are adding 

the federal net operating loss taken on 
your federal return to the income you 
reported on PIT-1, line 9. 

The rules for applying a net operating 
loss deduction to New Mexico taxable 
income are different from federal rules. 
To compute the New Mexico net operating 
loss carryforward, see line 7 later in 
these instructions. 

LINE 3
Contributions refunded when clos-
ing a New Mexico-approved Section 
529 college savings plan account 
and certain contributions rolled out 
of a New Mexico-approved Section 
529 college savings plan account

Enter the amount of qualified contribu-
tions refunded to you or rolled over 
during the tax year from a New Mexico-
approved Section 529 college savings 
plan account only if the contributions 
were deducted on an earlier New 
Mexico personal income tax return and 
if any of the following are true:
•	 You closed a New Mexico-ap-

proved Section 529 college sav-
ings plan account, and received a 
refund of the contributions. In this 
case, enter the amount of contribu-
tions refunded. 

•	 You rolled over contributions from 
a New Mexico-approved Section 
529 college savings plan account 
to a non-New Mexico-approved 
Section 529 college savings plan 
account. In this case, enter the 
amount of those contributions. 

Do not include: 
•	 Earnings refunded to the investor.
•	 Earnings rolled over from a New 

Mexico-approved Section 529 
college savings plan account to a 
non-New Mexico-approved Sec-
tion 529 college savings plan.

•	 Qualified distributions from the 
Section 529 college savings plan 
account.

For more information, see Brochure 
#6, New Mexico Income Tax and Your 
Education Trust (529) Plan on the De-
partment’s website.

LINE 4
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ryforward, a New Mexico net operating 
loss incurred cannot be carried back 
and if incurred on or after January 1, 
2013, may be carried forward for 19 
years or until the total amount of the 
loss carryover has been used, which-
ever occurs first. For a net operating 
loss that was incurred in tax years 
beginning before January 1, 2013, a 
New Mexico net operating loss may 
be carried forward for only five years. 
Refer to regulation 3.3.1.13(E) NMAC 
1978, if the net operating loss was 
incurred in a tax year beginning prior 
to January 1, 1991.

The first year you can apply a New 
Mexico net operating loss is:  
•	 If you filed your return on time, you 

can apply it the following tax year, 
	 or
•	 You can apply it the first tax year 

that begins after the date you file a 
return establishing the loss.

Calculation
To calculate the carryforward amount 
from a New Mexico net operating loss 
recognized in a previous year, follow 
these steps:
1.	 Add the next two amounts.

•	 The federal net operating loss 
as defined by Section 172(c) 
of the Internal Revenue Service 
for the tax year of the loss. 

•	 Any interest received on U.S. 
government obligations less re-
lated expenses reported on your 
New Mexico tax return for the tax 
year of the loss.

2.	 From the total in step 1, subtract 
any loss used in earlier tax years.

Attach Form RPD-41369
To show the tax year when each New 
Mexico net operating loss occurred 
and how the loss was used for each 
tax year, for which the loss was carried 
forward, attach to your return Form 
RPD-41369, Net Operating Loss Car-
ryforward Schedule. 

LINE 8  
Interest received on U.S. govern-
ment obligations

Enter the interest you received from 
U.S. government obligations, including 

sions, or from the Commonwealth of 
Puerto Rico, Guam, Virgin Islands, 
American Samoa, or Northern Mariana 
Islands do not qualify as a simple trust. 
  
Attach An Explanation
If the amount on line 6 is more than the 
amount on line 1, attach an explanation 
to your return.

LINE 7  
New Mexico net operating loss  
carryforward
If you have an unused New Mexico 
net operating loss carryforward from 
a previous year, enter the carryforward 
amount to apply against New Mexico 
taxable income for 2016. 

All New Mexico net operating losses 
must flow from a federal net operating 
loss. You cannot have a New Mexico 
net operating loss without a federal net 
operating loss.  

Unlike a federal net operating loss car-

lands, American Samoa, or North-
ern Mariana Islands;  

•	 Federally taxable bonds issued by 
the State of New Mexico; and     

•	 Mutual funds, unit investment 
trusts, or simple trusts invested 
in obligations of the State of New 
Mexico or its agencies, institu-
tions, instrumentalities, or political 
subdivisions, or from the Com-
monwealth of Puerto Rico, Guam, 
Virgin Islands, American Samoa, or 
Northern Mariana Islands.

You may deduct only the amount 
shown on the annual statement pro-
vided by the mutual fund, unit invest-
ment trust, or simple trust as flowing 
through to the investor from this invest-
ment income. 

NOTE: You may not deduct interest 
and dividends from IRAs. IRAs invest-
ed in obligations of the State of New 
Mexico or its agencies, institutions, 
instrumentalities, or political subdivi-

Worksheet for computing the Charitable Deduction Amount 
claimed on Federal Form 1040, Schedule A, from which you 
were allowed the New Mexico Land Conservation Tax Credit

1.  Enter the charitable deduction you claimed on federal 
Form 1040, for a donation of land to private non-profit 
or public conservation agencies for conservation pur-
poses from which you were allowed the New Mexico 
Land Conservation Tax Credit. 

2.  Enter your total itemized deductions from federal
     Form 1040, line 40. 

3.  Enter the sum of the amounts you reported on federal 
    Form 1040, Schedule A, lines 4, 9, 15, 19, 20, 27, and 
     28.

4.  Divide line 2 by line 3. Round to 4 decimal places.

5.	 Multiply line 4 by line 1.

6.	 Enter the standard deduction amount you could have
	 claimed on federal Form 1040, line 40, if you had not 
	 itemized your federal allowable deductions.

7.	

8.	 Subtract line 7 from line 2. If less than zero, enter 
	 zero. 

9.  Enter the lesser of lines 5 and 8. Also enter this    
     amount on PIT-ADJ, line 4.

$

$

$

$

$

$

$

%

Add the amount entered on Form PIT-1, line 10, if any, 
to line 6 and enter the result here; otherwise, enter the 
amount from line 6.
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any of the following:  
•	 U.S. savings bonds
•	 Treasury bills
•	 Notes issued by the Federal Home 

Loan Banks (do not include divi-
dends)

•	 U.S. government obligations from 
your share of income from partner-
ships, S corporations, or limited 
liability companies, or a distribution 
from a unit investment or simple trust

Deduct Dividends
You may deduct dividends from mutual 
funds invested in U.S. government 
obligations according to the percent-
age of the total fund invested in U.S. 
government obligations. 

To deduct these dividends, the fund 
must give investors statements show-
ing the amount of interest income 
from investments in U.S. government 
obligations. 

Do Not Deduct As Interest
Interest from the Government National 
Mortgage Association (Ginnie Mae), 
Federal National Mortgage Associa-
tion (Fannie Mae), or Federal National 
Home Loan Mortgage Association 
(Freddie Mac), is not deductible as in-
terest on U.S. government obligations. 

LINE 9  
Taxable Railroad Retirement Act 
annuities and benefits, and taxable 
Railroad Unemployment Insurance 
Act sick pay

If your taxable Railroad Retirement Act 
annuities and benefits, or your taxable 

Railroad Unemployment Insurance Act 
sick pay were part of your federal tax-
able income, enter the total of those 
amounts. 

Attach Forms RRB-1099 and RRB-
1099-R
You may receive one or both of these 
forms from the the Railroad Retirement 
Board. Attach the form(s) you receive 
to your return. 

LINES 10, 10a, and 10b  
Income of a member of a New 
Mexico federally-recognized Indian 
nation, tribe, or pueblo that was 
wholly earned on the lands of the 
reservation or pueblo of which the 
individual is an enrolled member 
while domiciled on that land, reser-
vation, or pueblo

If you, your spouse, or both, were 
enrolled members of a New Mexico 
federally-recognized Indian nation, 
tribe, or pueblo, your income is exempt 
from federal adjusted gross income if:
•	 You lived on the land of the Indian 

nation, tribe, or pueblo of membership 
when you earned the income, 

	 and
•	 You earned the income on the lands 

of that nation, tribe, or pueblo.

You must meet both conditions.

IMPORTANT: Income (including retire-
ment or pension income) earned off 
the lands of your own or your spouse’s 
nation, tribe, or pueblo is subject to 
New Mexico income tax no matter 
where you live.

When Armed Forces Pay and Retire-
ment or Pension Income is Exempt
Armed forces pay of an enrolled mem-
ber is exempt only for times when the 
home of record is on the member’s 
own Indian nation, tribe, or pueblo 
lands. 
Retirement or pension income is 
exempt only when the retirement or 
pension is the result of employment 
on the member’s Indian nation, tribe, 
or pueblo.

On line 10, enter the amount of quali-
fying income. On lines 10a and 10b, 
enter the name of your and, if appli-
cable, your spouse’s Indian nation, 
tribe, or pueblo.

NOTE FOR LINES 10 AND 11: You may 
not claim combined exemptions and 
deductions for more than 100% of 
income. If you claim rebates and cred-
its on PIT-RC, you must also include 
amounts exempted or deducted on 
PIT-ADJ, lines 10 and 11 as income 
when calculating modified gross in-
come. For more information, see the 
instructions for PIT-RC. 

LINE 11 and BOXES 11a and 11b
Income of persons age 100 years 
or older

To qualify for this income exemption 
both of the following must be true:
•	 The taxpayer or spouse must be 

100 years or older (a centenarian)
at the end of the tax year for which 
you claim the exemption.

•	 Someone else cannot claim the 
centenarian as a dependent.

 

TABLE 1. Exemptions for Persons 65 or Older or Blind (see line 12 instructions)
Married Filing Jointly, Head of 

Household, Qualifying Widow(er)

Adjusted Gross Income
PIT-1 Return, Line 9

      	               But not Over
	 $         0	 $30,000
	 30,001	 33,000
	 33,001	 36,000
	 36,001	 39,000
	 39,001	 42,000
	 42,001	 45,000
	 45,001	 48,000
	 48,001	 51,000
	 51,001---------------------------

 
Single

Adjusted Gross Income
PIT-1 Return, Line 9 

      	               But not Over
	 $         0	 $18,000
	 18,001	 19,500
	 19,501	 21,000
	 21,001	 22,500
	 22,501	 24,000
	 24,001	 25,500
	 25,501	 27,000
	 27,001	 28,500
	 28,501---------------------------

Married Filing Separately

Adjusted Gross Income
PIT-1 Return, Line 9

      	              But not Over
	 $         0	 $15,000
	 15,001	 16,500
	 16,501	 18,000
	 18,001	 19,500
	 19,501	 21,000
	 21,001	 22,500
	 22,501	 24,000
	 24,001	 25,500
	 25,501--------------------------

Amount for each 
taxpayer 65 or 

older, or blind, for 
federal income tax 

purposes

-----------$ 8,000
-----------   7,000
-----------   6,000
-----------   5,000
-----------   4,000
-----------   3,000
-----------   2,000
-----------   1,000
----------------    0
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If you qualify, mark the box or boxes 
on lines 11a and 11b. 

IMPORTANT: If you do not mark the 
box or boxes, the Department denies 
this exemption.

See the previous NOTE FOR LINES 
10 AND 11. 

Unmarried Centenarians. If you are 
an unmarried centenarian, you do not 
need to file a return unless you want 
to claim rebates and credits available 
for low income filers.

Married Centenarians. New Mexico is 
a community property state, and rules 
are different for married centenarians. 

If you are a married centenarian filing 
jointly or separately, you may exempt 
half of all community income and all 
of your separate income. 

Attach A Statement
If you report an exemption for more 
or less than 50% of total joint income, 
attach a statement to your return show-
ing a correct division of community 
property along with separate income 
and payments.

Not allowed are combined exemptions 
and deductions for more than 100% 
of income. 

IMPORTANT: If you claim rebates and 
credits on Schedule PIT-RC, include 
this exempt income in calculating 
modified gross income on that sched-
ule. See the instructions for Schedule 
PIT-RC.

For more information, see Bulletin 
B-300.03, New Mexico Exempts 100(+)- 
Year-Olds from Personal Income Tax, 
on the Department’s website.

LINE 12
Exemption for persons age 65 or 
older, or blind

You may be eligible for an exemption 
of up to $8,000 based on your filing 
status and your federal adjusted gross 
income from PIT-1, line 9, if:
•	 You are 65 or older, or
•	 You are not yet 65, but considered 

blind for federal income tax pur-
poses.

Find the column in Table 1 that match-
es your filing status. Then find the row 
that includes your federal adjusted 
gross income. Read across to the last 
column for the exemption amount.

When both persons in a married couple 
are either 65 or older or blind on the 
last day of the tax year, the amount in 
the table applies to each taxpayer on 
a joint return.

Mark Correct Boxes on PIT-1 Return 
If you or your spouse are 65 years 
of age or older, on page 1 of PIT-1 
mark boxes 1d and 2d. If you or your 
spouse are blind for federal income 
tax purposes, mark boxes 1c and 2c. 
If the boxes are not marked correctly, 
the Department denies this exemption 
on the Schedule PIT-ADJ.

The Department at some time may 
request proof that you or, if applicable,  
your spouse are blind for federal pur-
poses. Do not attach the proof to your 
return. 

NOTE: The Department allows only 
one deduction per person. You cannot 
take deductions for being both 65 or 
older and blind. 

EXAMPLE: A married couple files 
jointly and both people are 65 or older. 
Their federal adjusted gross income 
is $35,000. According to Table 1, 
the exemption amount is $12,000 or  
$6,000 x 2. 

If the same couple is also blind, the 
exemption is still $12,000.

EXAMPLE: A married couple files 
jointly. The primary taxpayer is 65 and 
the spouse is 45 and blind. Their fed-
eral adjusted gross income is $28,000.  
According to Table 1, the exemption is 
$16,000 or $8,000 x 2.

LINE 13
Exemption for New Mexico medical 
care savings account

If you or your spouse are enrolled in 
a New Mexico Medical Care Savings 

Account (NMMSA) established by an 
employer, and during 2016 you made 
or received contributions to the ac-
count or made or received distributions 
from the account, you may be entitled 
to claim a New Mexico medical care 
savings account exemption. 
An NMMSA is a tax-exempt trust or 
custodial account set up by a self-em-
ployed individual or a small employer 
who maintains a high-deductible indi-
vidual or family health plan. The funds 
from the NMMSA are used to pay the 
employee’s unreimbursed medical 
care expenses. To qualify for the ex-
emption, the qualified contributions or 
distributions must be included in your 
federal taxable income.

When You Can Claim This Exemption
If the following are included in your 
federal adjusted gross income, they 
are exempt from New Mexico income 
tax and reported on line 13:  
•	 Principal contributed to an NMMSA  
•	 Interest earned on an NMMSA
•	 Money paid for eligible medical 

expenses from funds in an NMMSA  
•	 Money advanced to the employee 

by the employer for eligible medical 
expenses, according to the Medical 
Care Savings Account Act

Do not include excess contributions, 
unqualified distributions, or money 
rolled over into another NMMSA. 

When You Cannot Claim This  
Exemption
Generally, qualified contributions and 
earnings are excluded, exempted, or 
deducted from federal adjusted gross 
income and distributions paid for eli-
gible medical expenses are excluded, 
exempted, or deducted from federal 
taxable income. If your qualified con-
tribution or distribution is excluded, 
exempted, or deducted from federal 
taxable income, you may not claim the 
exemption from New Mexico taxable 
income.

LINE 14
Deduction for contributions to a 
New Mexico-approved Section 529 
college savings plan
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The New Mexico Education Trust 
Fund is an account in one of the New 
Mexico-approved Section 529 college 
savings plans. 

You can deduct contributions you 
made to the fund during the tax year 
for each beneficiary. Contributions 
include the principal and earnings of 
amounts rolled over to a New Mexico-
approved Section 529 college savings 
plan account from a non-New Mexico-
approved Section 529 college savings 
plan. 

A taxpayer and spouse who file sepa-
rate returns (filing status is married 
filing separately) may each claim 
one-half of the deduction allowed on 
a joint return. 

NOTE: You may only deduct contribu-
tions to a Section 529 plan established 
and approved by the New Mexico    
Education Trust Board. See Brochure 
#6, New Mexico Income Tax and Your 
Education Trust (529) Plan, on the 
Department’s website.

LINE 15 
Net capital gains deduction

You may deduct all or part of your net 
capital gains reported and claimed on 
your federal tax return. You may deduct 
the greater of:

•	 100% of your net capital gains, not 
to exceed $1,000; or

•	 50% of your net capital gains.

A taxpayer and spouse who file sepa-
rate returns (filing status is married 
filing separately) may each claim only 
one-half of the net capital gains deduc-
tion allowed on a joint return.

IMPORTANT: You may not claim the 
net capital gains deduction in addition 
to credit provided by the Venture Capi-
tal Investments Act.

LINE 16
Armed Forces active duty pay 

Armed forces includes the Army, Navy, 
Air Force, Marine Corps, and Coast 
Guard. “Active duty,” as defined in 37 
USC 101, means full-time duty in ac-
tive service. It includes the following:  

•	 Full-time training duty  
•	 Annual training duty
•	 Full-time National Guard duty  
•	 Attendance, while in active service, 

at a school designated as a service 
school by law or by the Secretary of 
the service

If pay, wages, or salaries paid to you 
or your spouse for U.S. Armed Forces 
active duty service was included in 
your federal adjusted gross income 
on your PIT-1 return, line 9, enter the 
amount here. 

This exemption applies to residents 
and to non-residents of New Mexico.

NOTE: If you recieved active duty pay 
from the U.S. Public Health Service 
(USPHS), do not enter the income 
on this line. See the instructions for 
line 21.

Income Inside and Outside the State
If you have income from inside and 
outside New Mexico, also see the 
instructions for 2016 Schedule PIT-B, 
lines 1 and 11.

LINE 17
Medical care expense exemption for 
persons age 65 years or older

If you or your spouse are 65 years of 
age or older, and you paid unreim-
bursed and uncompensated medical 
care expenses of $28,000 or more dur-
ing tax year 2016, you may be eligible 
to claim an exemption of $3,000.

If you meet the following qualifications 
and your expenses are allowed (see 
the next paragraph), enter $3,000 on 
line 17 to claim the exemption: 
•	 This exemption is for medical 

care expenses for the care of any 
combination of you, your spouse, 
or your dependents. 

•	 The exemption is allowed for out-
of-state residents with an income 
tax responsibility to New Mexico. 

Types of Medical Expenses Allowed
The types of medical expenses you 
may include are described in PIT-1 
instructions for line 16, with one excep-
tion. You may include unreimbursed 
and uncompensated medical care 

expenses included in the itemized 
deductions on federal Form 1040, 
Schedule A.

The unreimbursed and uncompen-
sated medical care expenses used 
to compute this exemption include all 
qualified expenses used to calculate 
the refundable medical care credit 
for persons 65 or older reported on 
Schedule PIT-RC, line 23.

You may also include unreimbursed 
and uncompensated medical care ex-
penses used to compute the medical 
care expense deduction claimed on 
PIT-1, line 16.   

Attach PIT-RC
If you are eligible to claim this exemp-
tion, you are also eligible to claim the 
refundable medical care credit for 
persons 65 years or older reported on 
Schedule PIT-RC, line 23. This gives 
you an additional tax benefit. To claim 
that tax credit, complete and attach 
Schedule PIT-RC to your return.  

LINE 18
Deduction for organ donation-
related expenses

“Human organs” are defined as all or 
part of a heart, liver, pancreas, kidney, 
intestine, lung, or bone marrow. 

Enter any human organ donation-
related expenses, not to exceed 
$10,000. This includes your or your 
dependent’s lost wages, lodging, and 
travel expenses incurred during the 
tax year.  

A taxpayer and spouse who file sepa-
rate returns (filing status is married 
filing separately) may each claim only 
one-half of the deduction (or exemp-
tion) allowed on a joint return.

LINE 19
New Mexico National Guard member 
life insurance reimbursements tax 
exemption

If you receive a reimbursement from 
the National Guard Service Member’s 
Life Insurance Reimbursement Fund, 
you may claim a personal income tax 
exemption in the amount of the reim-
bursement. 
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The Department encourages all taxpayers to file online. 

Electronic filing is fast and secure. It provides the
fastest turnaround for a refund and saves tax dollars, 

costing less to process than a paper return.

The New Mexico Office of Military Af-
fairs issues the reimbursement and 
sends each recipient a Form 1099-
MISC for the reimbursement. 

Attach Form 1099-MISC
If you claim a New Mexico National 
Guard member life insurance reim-
bursements tax exemption, attach 
Form 1099-MISC to your return to 
support your exemption.

LINE 20
Taxable refunds, credits, or offsets 
of state and local income taxes from 
federal Form 1040, line 10

For tax years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2011, a deduction is al-
lowed for the amount you entered on 
the current year federal Form 1040, 
line 10, for Taxable refunds, credits 
or offsets of state and local income 
taxes. 

To qualify, you must have itemized 

your deductions and included these 
refunds, credits, or offsets in adjusted 
gross income on a prior year federal 
Form 1040, Schedule A. You are re-
quired to report the taxable refunds 
credits or offsets of state and local in-
come taxes on the current year (2016) 
federal Form 1040.

LINE 21
Non-resident U.S. Public Health 
Service members’ active duty pay

Enter the amount of income earned 
in New Mexico for active duty in the 
USPHS only if you are a non-resident  
of New Mexico. If you changed resi-
dency or domicile to or from New 
Mexico during the tax year, enter only 
the pay you earned while you were a 
non-resident of New Mexico.

This exemption applies only to non-
residents of New Mexico.   

Income Inside and Outside the State
If you have income from inside and 

outside New Mexico, also see the 
instructions for 2016 Schedule PIT-B, 
lines 1 and 11.

The spouse who moves to New Mexico 
for the sole purpose of being with their 
spouse, who is on active duty with 
the U.S. Public Health Service, may 
be eligible to allocate and apportion 
their income from services performed 
to their state of legal residency. In the 
instructions for PIT-B, see Income and 
Residency of Military Servicemember’s 
Spouse.


